Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Silent Linux (no Sound)
chapium
post Oct 24 2004, 06:44 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 24-October 04
Member No.: 4,023



I managed to break the sound on my system a while back. I'm not sure where even to start on getting it fixed. I'm using onboard sound on Nforce2. I have the latest drivers installed, mixers show that software volume is turned up, i'm in the "audio" user group, and this is all on Debian Sarge- kernel 2.6.8

Programs, (like xmms) play, but i get no sound.

lspci:

0000:00:00.0 Host bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce2 AGP (different version?) (rev c1)
0000:00:00.1 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation nForce2 Memory Controller 1 (rev c1)
0000:00:00.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation nForce2 Memory Controller 4 (rev c1)
0000:00:00.3 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation nForce2 Memory Controller 3 (rev c1)
0000:00:00.4 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation nForce2 Memory Controller 2 (rev c1)
0000:00:00.5 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation nForce2 Memory Controller 5 (rev c1)
0000:00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce2 ISA Bridge (rev a4)
0000:00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation nForce2 SMBus (MCP) (rev a2)
0000:00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation nForce2 USB Controller (rev a4)
0000:00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation nForce2 USB Controller (rev a4)
0000:00:02.2 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation nForce2 USB Controller (rev a4)
0000:00:04.0 Ethernet controller: nVidia Corporation nForce2 Ethernet Controller (rev a1)
0000:00:06.0 Multimedia audio controller: nVidia Corporation nForce2 AC97 Audio Controler (MCP) (rev a1)
0000:00:08.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce2 External PCI Bridge (rev a3)
0000:00:09.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation nForce2 IDE (rev a2)
0000:00:1e.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce2 AGP (rev c1)
0000:01:06.0 Ethernet controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. Marvell W8300 802.11 Adapter (rev 07)
0000:02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV17 [GeForce4 MX 440] (rev a3)


lsmod:


Module Size Used by
snd_seq 53648 0
nvidia 4821204 12
ipv6 262340 8
ds 18820 0
yenta_socket 21568 0
pcmcia_core 70132 2 ds,yenta_socket
af_packet 22600 2
shpchp 100780 0
pciehp 97388 0
pci_hotplug 34352 2 shpchp,pciehp
sd_mod 21632 0
nvsound 1535176 0
usb_storage 68608 0
scsi_mod 124748 2 sd_mod,usb_storage
ehci_hcd 31364 0
tsdev 7360 0
mousedev 10444 1
joydev 9856 0
evdev 9600 0
usbhid 32000 0
ohci_hcd 21380 0
usbcore 118308 6 usb_storage,ehci_hcd,usbhid,ohci_hcd
nvidia_agp 7836 1
agpgart 34536 2 nvidia_agp
parport_pc 35328 0
parport 41544 1 parport_pc
forcedeth 17792 0
snd_intel8x0 36140 0
snd_ac97_codec 69572 1 snd_intel8x0
snd_pcm 97480 1 snd_intel8x0
snd_timer 25540 2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd_page_alloc 11720 2 snd_intel8x0,snd_pcm
gameport 4736 1 snd_intel8x0
snd_mpu401_uart 8000 1 snd_intel8x0
snd_rawmidi 25380 1 snd_mpu401_uart
snd_seq_device 8264 1 snd_rawmidi
snd 57380 8 snd_seq,snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_timer,snd_mpu401_uart,snd_r
awmidi,snd_seq_device
soundcore 10400 2 nvsound,snd
nls_cp437 5760 1
capability 4616 0
commoncap 7296 1 capability
ide_cd 42528 0
cdrom 40284 1 ide_cd
genrtc 9652 0
vfat 14656 0
fat 46720 1 vfat
ntfs 102164 1
ext3 126760 3
jbd 61784 1 ext3
mbcache 9220 1 ext3
ide_generic 1472 0
ide_disk 19264 7
amd74xx 14108 1
ide_core 138788 5 usb_storage,ide_cd,ide_generic,ide_disk,amd74xx
unix 28596 228
font 8448 0
vesafb 6688 0
cfbcopyarea 3776 1 vesafb
cfbimgblt 3072 1 vesafb
cfbfillrect 3712 1 vesafb
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Oct 24 2004, 10:29 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Open up XMMS and go to Options | Prefernces. What output plugin are you using?


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chapium
post Oct 25 2004, 12:03 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 24-October 04
Member No.: 4,023



ALSA is the output plugin its using. XmmS is not the only program though, its all programs that use sound. Xmms, mplayer, gaim, KDE... etc.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Oct 25 2004, 12:24 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



I know, they all probably use the same plugin though, it was just an easy way to figure it out.

Try re-installing ALSA, thats a good place to start.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chapium
post Oct 25 2004, 07:17 AM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 24-October 04
Member No.: 4,023



Tried that already, no dice sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chapium
post Oct 25 2004, 04:54 PM
Post #6


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 24-October 04
Member No.: 4,023



Hmmm, it seems this Shows up in the terminal now and then:

ALSA lib pcm_hw.c:549:(snd_pcm_hw_start) SNDRV_PCM_IOCTL_START failed: Broken pipe
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post Oct 26 2004, 08:31 AM
Post #7


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



Have you checked to make sure that the channels were not muted? By default, alsa mutes especially on a re-install

From the console, run alsamixer and make sure that everything is unmuted and the volume is up.

I have an nforce1 motherboard, and i went out and purchased another soundcard because I had so much trouble with mine in linux. The sound would be static at times, would lock my Xserver solid in Quake3/Urban Terror, etc. It was a lot less headache with a new soundcard smile.gif


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 13th December 2017 - 06:17 AM