Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> I Screwed Up My Floppy Drive, And I don't know what to do.
popejeremy
post Oct 24 2004, 12:50 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 24-October 04
Member No.: 4,022



I was using my Slackware 10 box, trying to configure its floppy drive in order to write an ext2 floppy for use in a Mandrake install on a different box. I was having little luck, and trying various things. I'm not sure exactly what I did to cause this to happen, but now when I try to mount the floppy I get this:

root@ruby:~# mount /dev/fd0
mount: /dev/fd0 is not a block device (maybe try '-0 loop'?)

I get similar error messages about it not being a block device whenever I try to do anything with the floppy drive now.

What did I do?
How can I fix it?
And...
How can I achieve my first goal of writing a floppy image to a floppy disk in ext2 format so that I can install Mandrake on this new box?

Thank you for any help you can offer.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Oct 24 2004, 04:13 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



You must not have formated the disk right. Try re-formating the disk and see where that gets you.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
popejeremy
post Oct 24 2004, 10:36 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 24-October 04
Member No.: 4,022



Um, this has nothing to do with the floppy disk. It's the disk drive. The drive won't even start reading a floppy that's in the drive, so it can't tell if it's formatted or not.

When I take the suggestion and use the "-o loop" it still fails to read the floppy correctly.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Oct 25 2004, 12:25 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Will it work on some disks but not others?


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Oct 25 2004, 06:01 AM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



sounds like you have messed up the /dev/fd0 file (or the link it points to).

First do this:

ls -al /dev/fd0

In slackware 10 it says this:

lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 8 2004-10-25 01:11 /dev/fd0 -> floppy/0

then do:

cd /dev/floppy
ls -al


it should say:

total 0
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 0 2004-10-25 01:11 ./
drwxr-xr-x 13 root root 0 2004-10-25 06:11 ../
brw-rw---- 1 root floppy 2, 0 2004-10-25 01:11 0


If you have those files, then the problem is with the individual floppy you are trying to mount...if you don't we will need to figure out how to create the block device file.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
popejeremy
post Oct 25 2004, 02:37 PM
Post #6


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 24-October 04
Member No.: 4,022



Thanks. I tried your suggesion and here's what I get. Please note that there was no /dev/floppy. This means one of two things. You made a typeo and you meant /mnt/floppy, or this thing is more screwed up than I know. Thanks so much for your help.

root@ruby:/mnt/floppy# ls -al /dev/fd0
-rw-rw-rw- 1 nobody nobody 1474560 2004-10-24 13:26 /dev/fd0
root@ruby:/mnt/floppy# cd /dev/floppy
-bash: cd: /dev/floppy: No such file or directory
root@ruby:/mnt/floppy# ls -al
total 17
drwxr-xr-x 3 root root 1024 2004-10-24 13:26 ./
drwxr-xr-x 5 root root 4096 2002-03-16 02:34 ../
drwx------ 2 root root 12288 2004-10-24 13:26 lost+found/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Oct 25 2004, 05:26 PM
Post #7


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I meant /dev/floppy ... very wierd.

Looks like you copied a file to /dev/fd0 ... it is not the special character file.

What version of Slackware are you using?


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
popejeremy
post Oct 26 2004, 05:13 AM
Post #8


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 24-October 04
Member No.: 4,022



Slackware 10.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post Oct 26 2004, 08:26 AM
Post #9


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



I may be missing something, but, he first attempted to mount the /dev/floppy device. Shouldn't he be mounting by using the directory name that is listed in /etc/fstab ?

For example, on my debian system, i would just use:

mount /media/floppy

Referencing the mount point and not the device. I'm on a windows system now, so i can't test, but i may be wrong and you may be able to reference either.


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Oct 27 2004, 05:22 AM
Post #10


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



you should be able to do a mount like this:

mount /dev/xxxx /mnt/xxxx

or if the device is in /etc/fstab, you should be able to do the same mount with just the path like this:

mount /mnt/xxxx

I think the problem is that the special device block file was overwritten with a regular floppy image ... if you look at his file at /dev/fd0, it is the size of a floppy image...
QUOTE
-rw-rw-rw- 1 nobody nobody 1474560 2004-10-24 13:26 /dev/fd0


I am going to boot my slackware 10 and see if the /dev files are created dynamically or are part of the /dev directory. If the files are static, I'll post a tar file that contains the file you need in the /dev directory.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Oct 27 2004, 06:03 AM
Post #11


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



OK,

in my slackware 10 system I am using udev for device creation ... I think that is the default (I didn't do anything special for it to be installed on my slackware partition).

If I boot on a different OS and mount the slackware partition to look, the /dev/floppy directory is not there, but it is created on bootup into slackware by udev, so I can't just give you a file to put in the /dev directory.

Since the file /dev/fd0 (on your system) is not the right one, do this as root ...

mv /dev/fd0 /root

This should move the 1.4 mb file named fd0 (owned by the user nobody) to the /root directory ... then reboot your system and see if udev creates the proper files and links. After reboot, do:

ls -al /dev/fd0

see if it gives this output:

lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 8 2004-10-27 00:56 /dev/fd0 -> floppy/0


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
popejeremy
post Nov 22 2004, 02:55 PM
Post #12


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 24-October 04
Member No.: 4,022



I did what you said and gave it the 'ol "ls -al /dev/fd0" and it tells me

/usr/bin/ls: /dev/fd0: No such file or director

So, it didn't respawn or get put there automagically. I must have deleted the proper fd0 file and now I don't know where to get a new one.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
popejeremy
post Nov 23 2004, 12:27 AM
Post #13


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 24-October 04
Member No.: 4,022



Hey everybody, thanks for the help you offered, but I fixed it myself by doing this:

mknod /dev/fd0 b 2 0
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th October 2017 - 07:22 PM