Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Acpi, do i need to recompile my kernal
imaginaxion
post Oct 20 2004, 10:48 AM
Post #1


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 9-August 04
From: South Africa
Member No.: 3,521



i have a Dell Inspiron 2600 laptop and am currently running mandrake 10 with 2.6 kernel

i have tried to set up APM for the power management eg standby and suspend which i still cant get to work properly
i also have no battery monitor so i have no idea how much time i have left.

so what i'm getting to is i have been advised to go to ACPI which is APM's successor but have aslo been told i have to recompile my kernel (being a newbie this is a bit daunting but i would like to learn how anyway.

i have seen how-to's for ACPI that talk about seting or recompiling the 2.4 kernel, i just want ot know for shore if i must with 2.6

if i must can u please tell me where to find a good tut on how to recompile a kernel

thanks
graham
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Oct 21 2004, 06:31 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I have this Mandrake 2.6.3 kernel:

2.6.3-19mdk-i686-up-4GB

My kernel is configured with ACPI already included ... I would think yours is too.

To see if it is already turned on, look at the /boot/config-version file for the kernel you are running. Ypu can figure out your kernel with the comamnd:

uname -r

So for me, I look in the file /etc/config-2.6.3-19mdk-i686-up-4GB for this section:

#
# ACPI (Advanced Configuration and Power Interface) Support
#


Mine says:
CODE
#
# ACPI (Advanced Configuration and Power Interface) Support
#
CONFIG_ACPI=y
CONFIG_ACPI_INITRD=y
CONFIG_ACPI_BOOT=y
CONFIG_ACPI_INTERPRETER=y
CONFIG_ACPI_SLEEP=y
CONFIG_ACPI_SLEEP_PROC_FS=y
CONFIG_ACPI_AC=m
CONFIG_ACPI_BATTERY=m
CONFIG_ACPI_BUTTON=m
CONFIG_ACPI_FAN=m
CONFIG_ACPI_PROCESSOR=m
CONFIG_ACPI_THERMAL=m
CONFIG_ACPI_ASUS=m
CONFIG_ACPI_TOSHIBA=m
# CONFIG_ACPI_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_BUS=y
CONFIG_ACPI_EC=y
CONFIG_ACPI_POWER=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PCI=y
CONFIG_ACPI_SYSTEM=y
CONFIG_ACPI_RELAXED_AML=y
CONFIG_X86_PM_TIMER=y


So, for my kernel, it was compiled with ACPI turned on...


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 14th December 2017 - 02:08 PM