Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Ftp To Mandrake, can't ftp into mandrake 10 as root
burns1000
post Oct 18 2004, 08:40 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 18-October 04
Member No.: 3,981



Hi,

I wonder if anyone can help me with this. I am trying to ftp into mandrake and can't login as root. I have no problem as an ordinary user so I suspect root login has been disabled. Can anyone tell me how I can re-enable this?

Many thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Oct 18 2004, 07:32 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



ftping as root is dangerous unless you are doing it locally ...

the username and password for logging in to an ftp server is passed via clear text, and anyone with a sniffer between the sites can see them.

Is it possible that you could connect between the two PCs using sftp (which is part of ssh). That is a encrypted connection.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
burns1000
post Oct 19 2004, 02:55 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 18-October 04
Member No.: 3,981



thanks for the reply.

I am ftping locally just between two pcs on my home network. I accept the security issues, I just wondered technically what is cotrolling who can or can't ftp.
Ie Is ftp controlled by some config files somewhere and if so what and where. What would I need to change to allow root or anyone else to be blocked or allowed.

I suppose I just want to increase my knowledge of Linux !

Any ideas?

thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Oct 19 2004, 06:27 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



what version of Mandrake ... (I wasn't trying to be rude before, just trying to make sure you didn't open up your network to hackers smile.gif)


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 06:51 AM