Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Red Hat 8.0 And The Internet, internet problems
XTreme43
post Feb 3 2003, 07:15 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 26-January 03
Member No.: 372



Just installed and started running red hat 8.0. and was wondering how I set up the internet on my machine...

amd duron 1.0 GHz
524 meg ram
usrobotics 56k modem (at modem0 currently)
sony cdrw
memorex cdr
floppy.
running 4 hard drives (2 under a maxtor ultra ata 100 card)
/dev/hda is a 13 gig
/dev/hdb is a 40 gig
/dev/hdc is a 80 gig for music storage
/dev/hdd is a 120 gig western digital for ftp server

my question is how do I make the connection to the internet (clickable on the desktop??)

thanks for any and all help...

Brian
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chrisw
post Feb 3 2003, 11:15 AM
Post #2


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Admin
Posts: 634
Joined: 27-September 02
From: Louisiana
Member No.: 5



did you read any documentation before posting?


--------------------

Chris W.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dexatron
post Feb 3 2003, 11:54 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 3-February 03
Member No.: 407



I'm not sure if this is right but I think you can assciate Netscape browser or Mozilla with your dial up modem. So that when you click on the icon it will bring up the dialer. I'm very new to Linux So bare with me. I just started running Red hat 8.0 and love it.


Ok First you have to find your dialer i'm not sure what your using. I know I use to use Kdialer, I think that's what it was called. To make it an Icon on the desktop, you have to know what the command line is in a shell. So to find that out, all you have to do is go into the red hat menu(in windows it would be called the START button" right click on the dialer and choose "PUT INTO RUN DIALOG"...this will show you the path to where this program is. knowing where it is ....is half the battle....Now, once you know....right click anywhere on your desktop and choose "NEW LAUNCHER" place the path to the program or use the brouse button, choose and ICON, and your done...... I hope this is accurate...And I hop this help you. biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post Feb 6 2003, 09:09 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



You do really need to read some documentation first. But if you're really impatient, you can check out kppp which is a nice gui internet dial-up program for KDE (should be still accesable through Gnome GUI).


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th October 2017 - 09:03 PM