Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Intel Integerated Graphics 865g Chipset
gorbehnare
post Oct 13 2004, 12:19 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 13-October 04
Member No.: 3,940



Hi everyone

ok, i'll get straight to the point. I'm not very good with Linux, not yet, i'm still trying to learn. i could get suse 9.0 pro installed on my brand new linux box, and everything seems to be working fine, except for the Video card. it had horrible 2D and 3D support and it seems like it's not using hardware acceleratin at all.

I have tried downloading the i865G Graphics drivers from intel and installing the rpm package (which fixed some stuff, such as screen resolution on my 17" LCD looks a lot better than before), but the resuls aren't as good as they should be. MPEG and AVI video plays really choppy and keeps jumping, and 3d works really slow:

...@linux:~> glxgears
2322 frames in 5.0 seconds = 464.400 FPS
2901 frames in 5.0 seconds = 580.200 FPS
2962 frames in 5.0 seconds = 592.400 FPS
2906 frames in 5.0 seconds = 581.200 FPS

and also this:


.....inux:~> glxinfo
name of display: :0.0
display: :0 screen: 0
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.2
server glx extensions:
GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating, GLX_EXT_import_context
client glx vendor string: SGI
client glx version string: 1.2
client glx extensions:
GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating, GLX_EXT_import_context
GLX extensions:
GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating, GLX_EXT_import_context

OpenGL vendor string: Tungsten Graphics, Inc
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Intel® 865G 20021115
OpenGL version string: 1.2 Mesa 4.0.4

OpenGL extensions:
GL_ARB_imaging, GL_ARB_multitexture, GL_ARB_texture_env_add,
GL_ARB_texture_env_combine, GL_ARB_transpose_matrix, GL_EXT_abgr,
GL_EXT_bgra, GL_EXT_blend_color, GL_EXT_blend_func_separate,
GL_EXT_blend_minmax, GL_EXT_blend_subtract, GL_EXT_clip_volume_hint,
GL_EXT_convolution, GL_EXT_compiled_vertex_array, GL_EXT_fog_coord,
GL_EXT_histogram, GL_EXT_packed_pixels, GL_EXT_polygon_offset,
GL_EXT_rescale_normal, GL_EXT_secondary_color, GL_EXT_texture3D,
GL_EXT_texture_env_add, GL_EXT_texture_env_combine, GL_EXT_texture_object,
GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias, GL_EXT_vertex_array, GL_IBM_rasterpos_clip,
GL_MESA_window_pos, GL_NV_texgen_reflection, GL_SGI_color_matrix,
GL_SGI_color_table
glu version: 1.3
glu extensions:
GLU_EXT_nurbs_tessellator, GLU_EXT_object_space_tess

visual x bf lv rg d st colorbuffer ax dp st accumbuffer ms cav
id dep cl sp sz l ci b ro r g b a bf th cl r g b a ns b eat
----------------------------------------------------------------------
0x22 24 tc 1 24 0 r y . 8 8 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 None
0x23 24 tc 1 24 0 r . . 8 8 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 None
0x24 24 tc 1 24 0 r y . 8 8 8 0 0 24 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 None
0x25 24 tc 1 24 0 r . . 8 8 8 0 0 24 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 None
0x26 24 tc 1 24 0 r y . 8 8 8 0 0 0 0 16 16 16 0 0 0 Slow
0x27 24 tc 1 24 0 r . . 8 8 8 0 0 0 0 16 16 16 0 0 0 Slow
0x28 24 tc 1 24 0 r y . 8 8 8 0 0 24 8 16 16 16 0 0 0 Slow
0x29 24 tc 1 24 0 r . . 8 8 8 0 0 24 8 16 16 16 0 0 0 Slow



I cannot enable hardware acceleration in Yast either. I enable it, it tests it and asks me if i want to save the settings. when i save the settings it says the settings will take effect next time the xserver is restarted. as soon as i hit ok everything changes back again. restarting the x doesn't do anything.
I appreciate any comments or suggestions that can help me fix this problem. Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hemant
post Oct 13 2004, 12:47 AM
Post #2


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 782
Joined: 6-October 02
From: Trichy,INDIA
Member No.: 29



Suse-9.0 is a bit old..

I guess it comes with 2.4 kernel..

try upgrading to latest.(FC-2 or suse-9.1)


--------------------
Hemant Kumar
user posted image
hemant@linuxhelp.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gorbehnare
post Oct 13 2004, 01:38 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 13-October 04
Member No.: 3,940



Is that the final answer? huh.gif

thanks anyways blink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hemant
post Oct 16 2004, 04:05 AM
Post #4


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 782
Joined: 6-October 02
From: Trichy,INDIA
Member No.: 29



Ok..
There could issue with your monitor as well...
As i remember LCD monitors are not well supported in GNU/Linux.
Does your monitor is recognised natively(i mean without any tweaks)


--------------------
Hemant Kumar
user posted image
hemant@linuxhelp.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gorbehnare
post Oct 16 2004, 08:12 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 13-October 04
Member No.: 3,940



Thank you very much for your reply.

Well, i have a Samsung 171s monitor, and since it didn't have it listed, i used 170n instead (it supports the exact same resolution and refresh rates). i get the right resolution and refresh rate in KDE (1280X1024 @75Hz).

I don't know if that could have such an impac on 3D games like Enemy territory at 800x600. it runs very slow (like 1 frame every 2 sec!!!).

If you think that could be the problem, how can I install drivers for 171s then?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gorbehnare
post Oct 16 2004, 11:08 PM
Post #6


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 13-October 04
Member No.: 3,940



QUOTE (Hemant @ Oct 13 2004, 12:47 AM)
Suse-9.0 is a bit old..

I guess it comes with 2.4 kernel..

try upgrading to latest.(FC-2 or suse-9.1)

ok, well... i did upgrade to SUSe 9.1 now. the 3d acceleration shows as "Enabled" now, but the thing is even slower than before.
^^^^^x:~> glxgears
1236 frames in 5.0 seconds = 247.200 FPS
1320 frames in 5.0 seconds = 264.000 FPS
1440 frames in 5.0 seconds = 288.000 FPS
1440 frames in 5.0 seconds = 288.000 FPS
1320 frames in 5.0 seconds = 264.000 FPS

how can i fix this?

thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hemant
post Oct 17 2004, 10:59 PM
Post #7


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 782
Joined: 6-October 02
From: Trichy,INDIA
Member No.: 29



How much Video Memory you have??
If you have less Video memory..you should switch to a lower resolution(1024x768)...

And what about the monitor???
Is it recognised natively??


--------------------
Hemant Kumar
user posted image
hemant@linuxhelp.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gorbehnare
post Oct 17 2004, 11:44 PM
Post #8


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 13-October 04
Member No.: 3,940



It's an integrated video card and uses 16 or 32 MB (where can i see how much available phisical memory i have?).
I'm not sure what you mean by the monitor being detected natively. My monitor (Samsung Syncmaster 171s) is not listed in the Yast. i have tried setting it up using the 170n which is a newer model and supports the exact same resolutions and referesh rates as 171s.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 01:19 AM