Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> View Tv, TV tuner
sir_ade
post Oct 12 2004, 10:24 PM
Post #1


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 38
Joined: 26-February 03
From: MALAYSIA
Member No.: 493



how to install Tv tuner in fedora core1? i have Expert Tv - PVR 878 tv card
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Oct 13 2004, 06:02 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



There are 2 really good TV programs that I recommend.

One is MythTV - it is good for recording and playback, but can also be used for live veiwing. It uses lots of resources and saves the stream to disk even for live playback.

The other is TVtime - This one shows the info but doesn't record.

There are others...but these both work well.
-------------
The easiest way to install these on FedoraCore1 are to use yum or apt and freshrpms (actually, from at-rpms site and the dag site). There are 4 site (at-rpms, dag, newrpms, and freshrpms) that provide RedHat packages via Yum and Apt ... these site work in conjuction with each other to provide several 3rd party packages.


You can also keep your system updated using apt and those 4 sites like this:

Install apt for FC1 from the freshrpms site (the top rpm).

Download the file and install via the command:

rpm -Uvh apt-0.5.15cnc6-0.1.fc1.fr.i386.rpm

Then edit the file /etc/apt/sources.list and replace it with the following:
CODE
# Fedora Linux 1
rpm http://ayo.freshrpms.net fedora/linux/1/i386 core updates freshrpms

### Dag Apt Repository for Red Hat Fedora Core 1 (rhfc1)
rpm http://apt.sw.be redhat/fc1/en/i386 dag

#newrpms.sunsite.dk
rpm http://newrpms.sunsite.dk/apt/ redhat/en/i386/fc1 newrpms

#ATrpms
rpm http://apt.atrpms.net fedora/1/en/i386 at-stable


After installing issue these commands to get all the latest updates:

apt-get update
apt-get dist-upgrade


Then issue this command to install TVtime and MythTV.

apt-get install tvtime mythtv

That should install both programs...tvtime should run as is ... mythtv will need to be setup via the website directions:
http://www.mythtv.org/modules.php?name=MythInstall


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post Oct 15 2004, 07:28 AM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



TVtime is great when you want to emulate a real life tv, that is the focus of the project. Most likely, if there's a feature on your tv, then it will be included in the project. If it's not already there and you think it should be, suggest it to the developers by fileing a bug report, and chances are, if it's a reasonable request, it will be included in the next release. The author of tvtime is a pretty approachable guy and is always wanting to add features that are included in most televisions.

MythTV is great as well, but is a PVR, which means that it focuses more on "Tivo"-like functions (pausing live tv, tv show grids, etc.). I use both of these programs in my daily use. MythTV for scheduling records of tv shows, and tvtime for live tv viewing.


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th October 2017 - 03:40 PM