Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Mandrake 10.1 Nvidia Drivers
mdphreak27
post Oct 4 2004, 10:45 PM
Post #1


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 4-October 04
Member No.: 3,896



I just installed mandrake 10.1 with kernal version 2.6.8.1-10mdk. Im tring to install the nvidia drivers for my vid card but it keeps giving me an error related to my kernal version.... the driver only lists up to mndrk 10.0 kernal ver 2.6.2 or so. should I asume thats the reason why? if thats the case can I and should I downgrade my kernal to what the driver can deal with? this wouldnt really be an issue if I wasnt trying to dualview, but unfortunately i cant do that without the driver.....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Oct 5 2004, 05:25 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



You should be able to download the latest NVIDIA drivers from here:

http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux.html

(You probably want the IA32 version unless you installed IA64 or AMD 64 OS)
------------------
You also need to install the Mandrake package kernel-source.
------------------
Then follow the readme to make it work:
ftp://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-x...6111/README.txt


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mdphreak27
post Oct 5 2004, 12:31 PM
Post #3


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 4-October 04
Member No.: 3,896



thats the driver I tried installing. i tried different methods ie... running it, extract then make install, and i tried a patch thats supposed to fix the problem. however i still got the error about me kernel even though the patch is supposed to fix that. I dont know where to go from here....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Oct 6 2004, 04:09 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I haven't installed Mandrake 10.1 yet ... but I am downloading it right now.

I will install Mandrake 10.1, then I will try to install the NVIDIA drivers.

I'll post the results here (with a howto if I am successful).


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Oct 6 2004, 11:03 AM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



What is the specific error about your Kernel?


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mdphreak27
post Oct 7 2004, 02:50 AM
Post #6


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 4-October 04
Member No.: 3,896



well after a little searching I found out how to get the driver to install....however now when I boot into linux I only get a blank screen....wtf? anyone know where to go from here?
this is the method that alowed me to do the install

(0.1) install kernel source

$ urpmi kernel-source-2.6

(0.2) close X session

$ service dm stop

(1) extract the content of the installer

$ NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-6111-pkg1.run -x

this will create the following directory: NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-6111-pkg1/

(2) now enter that directory and go to usr/src/nv. replace the switch constant on line 3697 of the file nv.c to

PM_SUSPEND_MEM

(3) back to first level directory (NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-6111-pkg1/)

$ cd ../../..

(4) as root run

$ ./nvidia-installer

(5) edit /etc/modprove.preload and add the following entry:

nvidia

(6) edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf and replace

Driver "nv" with Driver "nvidia"

(7)

$ modprobe nvidia
$ service dm start
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Oct 7 2004, 05:50 AM
Post #7


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I have completed my install of Mandrake 10.1 Community ... and as you have already stated, there is a bug in the code for the NVIDIA propreitary driver and the 2.6.8.1 kernel. Here is how I got the Driver to install (you already did most/all of this ... but it is also recap for others as well):

1. Install kernel-source with this command (all commands are as root in a console window):

urpmi kernel-source-2.6
(pick the 2.6.8.1 kernel source)

2. Make the driver file executable:

chmod 755 NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-6111-pkg1.run

3. Extract the kernel driver, so we can edit the code:

./NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-6111-pkg1.run -x

4. Go into the directory:

cd NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-6111-pkg1

5. Edit the file usr/src/nv/nv.c (under your curent directory) and replace the text PM_SAVE_STATE with PM_SUSPEND_MEM. (In the current driver, this is only on line 3697).

6. If you are in GUI mode ... shift to console mode with this command:

init 3
(login as root, and go back into the NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-6111-pkg1 directory)

7. Install the driver with the command:

./nvidia-installer

8. edit /etc/modprobe.preload and add the following entry (at the bottom of the file):

nvidia

9. Now edit the file /etc/X11/xorg.conf and replace nv with nvidia and add load "glx" to the Section "Module" section of the file.

10. Load the nvidia module:

modprobe nvidia
(in some cases, you may need to load agpgart first with the command modprobe agpgart)

11. Test and see if X is going to start:

startx

12. If that works, reboot and make sure everything runs at startup.
----------------------------
Now to answer your specific issue ... do you have an NVIDIA Nforce 2 chipset or an SiS Chipset motherboard? If so, you need to add nvidia-agp before nvidia in the file /etc/modprobe.preload ... or if you have an SiS chipset (I have one on my test machine), you will need to add sis-agp before nvidia in the /etc/modprobe.preload file.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mdphreak27
post Oct 7 2004, 02:36 PM
Post #8


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 4-October 04
Member No.: 3,896



If this helps at all heres what I have...
Motherboard - Gigabyte GA-7VAX
MB Chipset - northbridge:via-kt400 , southbridge:via8235
video card - Nvidia GeForce4 Ti 4600


I also have a stupid question, now that i cant see anything in graphical mode....how do I edit files from the text-based console?
I'd like, if nothing else, to be able to return to my previouss state without reinstalling .....again
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mdphreak27
post Oct 7 2004, 03:46 PM
Post #9


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 4-October 04
Member No.: 3,896



update - i figures out the editing so i dont need help wit that any more

in reguards to the modprobe.preload file it already has nvidia-agp in it

I did go back and erase the nvidia line from modprobe.preload and edited /etc/X11/xorg.conf and switched back to nv from nvidia so I can see again

I would still like the driver installed and functional....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Oct 7 2004, 07:04 PM
Post #10


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Make sure there is not a load "dri" in the load section.

Were there any messages in /var/log/X.org.0.log


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mdphreak27
post Oct 8 2004, 02:57 PM
Post #11


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 4-October 04
Member No.: 3,896



what file do i want to make sure load "dri" in not in?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Oct 8 2004, 05:17 PM
Post #12


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



sorry smile.gif

in /etc/X11/xorg.conf


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mdphreak27
post Oct 8 2004, 11:42 PM
Post #13


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 4-October 04
Member No.: 3,896



no load "dri" is not in the xorg.conf file
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mdphreak27
post Oct 9 2004, 01:00 AM
Post #14


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 4-October 04
Member No.: 3,896



Well I went back and tried the following (very similar to what i tried before) everything was the same exept making sure that Load "glx" # 3D layer was no longer commented out in the "Module" section of xorg.conf and adding alias char-major-195* nvidia into modprobe.preload.

well this (unlike before) didnt load into x and give me a blank screen, instead it gave me the "no screen detected" error (or something to that effect) and stayed at the command prompt

so off to do more searching......

btw thanks for the help so far...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mdphreak27
post Oct 13 2004, 09:02 PM
Post #15


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 4-October 04
Member No.: 3,896



ok I got the driver up and running. i figured out i have to type "modprobe nvidia" and then startx and the driver load s up
now , however i have to do that every time i start up my machine
what file whould i throw the modprobe comand into for it to run at startup?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Oct 14 2004, 08:15 PM
Post #16


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



it would go into the file:

/etc/modprobe.preload

(after the agp driver)


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mdphreak27
post Oct 14 2004, 11:50 PM
Post #17


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 4-October 04
Member No.: 3,896



tried it, didnt work
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Oct 15 2004, 08:59 PM
Post #18


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



strange .... you could put it in as the last line of the file /etc/rc.local

/sbin/modprobe nvidia


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mdphreak27
post Oct 16 2004, 01:31 PM
Post #19


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 4-October 04
Member No.: 3,896



well the command modprobe nvidia is being entered somewhere durring the startup proccess, but i still dont get my graphical login, its still text based
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Oct 18 2004, 06:37 AM
Post #20


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Looks like the display manager starts before rc.local runs, so the NVIDIA driver isn't loaded when the Display Manager starts. We probably just need to load the NVIDIA driver sooner. Try this:

remove the lines from rc.local and create a file in /etc/init.d/ named load_nvidia

put this inside the file:

CODE
#!/bin/bash

case "$1" in
 start)
       /sbin/modprobe nvidia
     ;;
 stop)
       exit
     ;;
 *)
       exit
esac


Now save the file and chmod it to be executable:

chmod 755 /etc/init.d/load_nvidia

now create a link to make it load on run level 5 ... like this:

ln -s /etc/init.d/load_nvidia /etc/rc5.d/S07load_nvidia

it should insert the nvidia driver after hardware detection and before the network starts on runlevel 5 (gui mode).


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2017 - 02:54 PM