Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Sagem F@st 800 Adsl Modem Installation, Mandrake Linux 9.1
Red Hammer
post Sep 28 2004, 12:56 PM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 3,853

Hi all
im a newbie Linux user, dual booting Mandrake Linux 9.1 (installed with disks from Linux User) and Windows XP (using XP now).

When installing the modem, everything goes well. the make: command passes through fine (i installed the packages requested in the readme), no errors at the end. Im using the PPPoA install (i believe this is correct for the UK?)

The problem, is configuring the user account. It asks me to edit 2 files with my username and password. The section in the readme states:
    3.1.2. Configuration of the user account
    ----------------------------------------
- Edit the file "/etc/ppp/chap-secrets" with your favourite editor (vi, gedit, kedit...):
    # gedit /etc/ppp/chap-secrets &

Add a new line in the file using TAB to separate username and password (type also the stars):
    your_username * your_password *
remark : you must let a blank line at the end of the file.

- Edit the file "/etc/ppp/pap-secrets" with your favourite editor (vi, gedit, kedit...):
    # gedit /etc/ppp/pap-secrets &

Add a new line in the file using TAB to separate username and password (type also the stars):
    your_username * your_password *
remark : you must let a blank line at the end of the file.

- Edit the file /etc/ppp/options
    # gedit /etc/ppp/options &

Enter the name of your connection in front the field "user" (type also the "" )
    user  "your_username"