Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Df Reports Incorrect Sizes
nifflerX
post Sep 21 2004, 03:26 PM
Post #1


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 4-November 03
Member No.: 1,751



Hi,

I'm running RHEL WS v.3. Kernel: 2.4.21-20.ELsmp. I use the automounter to mount directories via NFS. However, when I type in df -h I get the following results:

CODE
Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/hda5             996M  264M  682M  28% /
/dev/hda1              76M   41M   32M  56% /boot
/dev/hda8             9.5G  2.6G  6.5G  29% /home
/dev/hda2             3.4G  3.0G  215M  94% /opt
none                 1004M     0 1004M   0% /dev/shm
/dev/hda3             2.9G  2.4G  402M  86% /usr
/dev/hda6             996M   86M  860M  10% /var
remote.machine.address:/home/data
                        1     1     1   0% /nfs/raidzone/data


This doesn't impact my work in anyway because I am still able to cp and mv data to the nfs mount. I was just wondering why I'm getting this weird response. If anyone knows I'd appreciate it. Thanks so much.


-NifflerX
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post Sep 21 2004, 05:38 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



I think that by default, dfs won't display the correct sizes of your NFS shares. Try this:

QUOTE
df -F nfs


And see if that reports correctly.


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nifflerX
post Sep 27 2004, 01:37 PM
Post #3


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 4-November 03
Member No.: 1,751



Thanks for the reply. When I tried that I got the following:

CODE
gregor 7% df -F nfs
Filesystem           1K-blocks      Used Available Use% Mounted on
remote.machine.1:/home/data
                    1439794752 783332312 656462440  55% /nfs/raidzone/data
remote.machine.2://home/small
                            1         1         1   0% /nfs/raidzone/small


I'm not sure why only one of the nfs mounts would show up correctly. Also, if I type in 'df -h' the data mount shows up the same as it does above, that is with all the correct info. But that is only since I did the 'df -F nfs' first. Any thoughts? Thanks so much.


-NifflerX
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 15th December 2017 - 08:41 PM