Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Zip 100 Internal Iomega, & suse 9.1
jrev
post Sep 13 2004, 06:14 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 13-September 04
Member No.: 3,765



Hi all,

I just installed the suse 9.1 distro and couldn't see the icon of my iomega ZIP100
on the desktop

I just left the suse 9.0 where my Zip was mounted automatically

so I will have to do it by hand

how do I start please ?

I copied a resume of the Yast hardware information where I can see my drive has been detected
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Sep 13 2004, 08:39 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



The first thing you need to do is add entry for you /etc/fstab

In order to do that you really need to know what your address is. It goes like this, anything on the IDE cables is at /dev/hd_ it goes in order from master slave primary to secondary, so the master on the primary cable is hda and the slave on the secondary is hdd. Than just add an entry to your fstab file that looks something like this.

CODE
/dev/hdd1     /mnt/zip    auto    noatime,users,umask=000      0  0


Make sure you create the directory you want to mount it to. Than from there you can make a short cut on your desk top manually. Hope that works for you, obviously you need to adjust the drive address to reflect where you have your zip drive.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Sep 13 2004, 09:36 PM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,800
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Check the output of the dmesg command to see if it is recognizing the drive and what device it is assigning. Futhermore, an originally formated zip disk uses partition 4.

/dev/sda4 /media/zip vfat noauto,umask=000,noatime 0 0
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 10th December 2017 - 06:59 PM