Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Help Configuring Apache On Mandrake, For Linux Noob
keats1821
post Aug 30 2004, 06:21 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 30-August 04
Member No.: 3,672



Okay, I'm new to Linux so give me a break. I'm trying to run a server on Mandrake 9.2 with Apache 2.0. I've already used DrakeX to load the files but can't figure out how to get Apache up. Apparently I have to configure the files, but any help I've recieved hasn't worked. This is what the terminal says:

[seth@localhost seth]$



Where do I go from here? So far Mandrake has been relatively easy to get around, I just can't figure this one out......

Seth
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Aug 31 2004, 12:18 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



If you installed it with DrakeX it should be up and running by itself.

Type in your IP address in a browser and see what you get, you should get the default, generic Apache page. (if you don't know your ip address, type su your root password, and than ifconfig to see it, than exit to get out)

The files for the server, I believe, are stored in /var/www/html or somewhere down that road, I think it actually tells you on the default apache page.

As for editing the config file, I don't actually know where Mandrake stores the Apache config, let me go look it up and get back to you.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Aug 31 2004, 12:28 PM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



The config files are stored where I thought, either in /etc/httpd/conf, or, for Apache 2.0, /etc/httpd/conf.d/

As for editing them, if you have specific questions feal free to ask, for more general guides, there are plenty of good stuff out there on the web, or right here in our Guides section [link]][link][/URL]

That should get you started.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
keats1821
post Aug 31 2004, 03:05 PM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 30-August 04
Member No.: 3,672



Okay, forgive me - I'm simple. I did all that, got the IP and went to the page. You can reach it by typing in localhost in the browser also. But how do I load the content? This is a lot different than the last server I used.

(Don't be too harsh on me, again, I'm stupid!)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Aug 31 2004, 05:28 PM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



So say you have your entire page stored in a directory calld "mypage" you just need to copy it over to the /var/www/html folder.

You can either do this graphically or from the command line.

I believe you will need root privilage to write to that folder, so the easiest way to do it is using the cp command. Something like this would work.

cp /home/user/mypage/* /var/www/html

(if you don't know how to get root privilage, the command is su)

That will move everything into the folder. So now, the index.html file that is loads when you type in the ip will be your homepage, stored in the /var/www/html folder. Got it?

And as a note, we are genearlly really nice around here, we love newbies, because every newbie means somebody else converted, and that makes us happy.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
keats1821
post Sep 1 2004, 08:00 AM
Post #6


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 30-August 04
Member No.: 3,672



Thanks, this really helped me a lot. So far Linux has been the best technological experience I've ever had. The command line is a bit different, so it takes some tinkering. And I really appreciate the way you guys handle yourselves (I hate those help forums where they disdain us noobs, but you have to start somewhere). If I need anything else I'll let you know. Thanks again!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
keats1821
post Sep 1 2004, 09:31 AM
Post #7


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 30-August 04
Member No.: 3,672



One more question: Is there a way to host multiple sites this way? I'm still looking through all the Apache modules, so I might get this one......
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2017 - 09:27 AM