Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Gettingconnected, Dlink to router for internet
fckwndws
post Aug 29 2004, 12:08 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 29-August 04
Member No.: 3,653



I'm trying to get online with Suse 9.1. I have a Dlink 2.4 GHz Wireless PCI Adapter to a linksys broadband router. I have all the configs correct i think, but it just doesn't connect. It works fine in windows using the Dlink proprietary software, but in Linux I'm at a loss. HELP!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Aug 29 2004, 01:18 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hello,

open up a console and type :

ifconfig
route
cat /etc/resolv.conf


and please copy the output of the commands here , so that I can see what is wrong.


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fckwndws
post Aug 29 2004, 02:46 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 29-August 04
Member No.: 3,653



Robert83, I am very pleased that you are trying to help me out. However, I am a brand new Linux idiot, and therefore I'm afraid your instructions to me have to be more descriptive in order for them to work for me. If you have the time to explain, I am forever in debt. Thank you again. fckwndws
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Aug 29 2004, 05:43 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



What desktop are you running, KDE, Gnome? Do you know how to start a terminal? If there is a monitor type icon on the taskbar then click it with the mouse. A console window should open.

Type at the prompt
/sbin/ifconfig
/sbin/route
cat /etc/resolv.conf

Post the resultant output of each message.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fckwndws
post Aug 29 2004, 06:40 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 29-August 04
Member No.: 3,653



Ok, I'm running KDE, i think that I got into a terminal. It prompted me for my password, then I typed some of the commands but they didn't work. well when i typed ifconfig it spit some stuff at me. but route and cat/etc/resolv.conf returned nothing... I just want to get connected to the internet so i can start using Linux primarily! thanks for any help!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Aug 31 2004, 05:03 PM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



I've never used a wireless card but check this out.
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/history/163192
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 02:00 PM