Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Switched To Suse, Mouse Not Working, This must be simple
lesio1974
post Aug 19 2004, 01:19 AM
Post #1


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 210
Joined: 8-March 04
From: Chicago, USA
Member No.: 2,544



i switched from Core 2 to SUSE 9.1 (just out of curiosity) and everything seems to be OK (got my DSL working, this is most important to me) except for the mouse:

it is a Logitech USB cordless optical mouse with the scroll wheel; in Fedora Core 2 it worked perfectly fine, in SUSE the scroll wheel does not work, even though I selected wheeled mouse at installation;

so what needs to be done to enable the scroll wheel in SUSE;

thanks for any help

g


--------------------
-- The Pole
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 19 2004, 05:05 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Editing SUSE config files by hand is kind of iffy ... Is it 9.1 personal OR 9.1 pro?

What you need is the following line in the /etc/X11/XF86Config file (in the mouse section):
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"

But editing the file by hand in SuSE can cause problems ... so run the programs:

sax2

and see if you can configure the mouse from in there.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lesio1974
post Aug 19 2004, 12:59 PM
Post #3


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 210
Joined: 8-March 04
From: Chicago, USA
Member No.: 2,544



ok, mouse is running (after just 5 reboots; go figure); but DSL drops connection like crazy;

going back to Core 2 :-)

thank you anyway

g


--------------------
-- The Pole
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th October 2017 - 09:42 AM