Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> System Doesnt Boot!, kernel v2.4.27
azul79
post Aug 18 2004, 08:44 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 18-August 04
Member No.: 3,576



hey!
i' ve a slack 9.0 with 2.4.20 kernel v.
i installed v2.4.27
i first followed the kernenewbies guide. but then i did what slackware essentials book said..
none of them worked..
when i reboot my pc.. and get into the lilo.. and select to boot the new kernel.. it enters into a lilo loop..
it reboots again.. and ask again which kernel i want ..
i dont know what can be happenning..
i'm new in this,.so is anybody can help me.. PLEASE!!
unsure.gif

thks!!


--------------------
bLueX@Neverland
:P
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Aug 18 2004, 09:13 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Well first off, can you select your old kernel still and get in to your system that way? If you can, boot up and loot at a few things for me. Well, I guess first, how did you install the kernel source or packet?

Next, exactly what do you mean by a lilo loop? Does it ever try to boot the kernel? I would check your lilo.conf file you can find it at /etc/lilo.conf look at make sure that the options are correct and that it points to the right images in your /boot folder.

Lets start there and see what happens.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
azul79
post Aug 18 2004, 09:52 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 18-August 04
Member No.: 3,576



THANKS FOR ANSWER!!
yes i can select my old kernel and get into my system..
the instalation i did this way:
- i downloaded the sources from ftp://ftp.kernel.org/pub/linux/kernel/v2.4
then i followed the lkernelnewbies guide to compile a kernel.. it says this:
- bzip2 -dc linux-2.4.0.tar.bz2 | tar xvf -
- make menuconfig
- make dep
- make bzImage
- make modules
- make modules_install
- cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/vmlinuz-2.4.27
- cp System.map /boot/System.map-2.4.27
- edit /etc/lilo.conf, and add these lines...
image = /boot/vmlinuz-2.4.27
label = 2.4.27
root=/dev/hda3
- run /sbin/lilo

that is what i did.. then i rebooted and selected the new kernel.. and instead of loading it.. it rebooted again and entered into the lilo again..
i did a couple of times.. and it was always the same thing.. so i selected my old kernel and that way it worked..

then.. someone told me that with slack u dont need to do
make modules_install
and so i followed what ' slack essentials book' said..
so i did this:

- cd /usr/src/linux
- make mrproper
- make menuconfig
- make dep
- make clean
- make bzImage
- make modules
and then ..
run the lilo again--

do u think is a hardware problem?

here is my lilo.con file

image = /boot/vmlinuz
root = /dev/hda3
label = Linux
read-only
image = /boot/vmlinuz-2.4.27
label = 2.4.27
root = /dev/hda3
read-only

thank u very very much for helping me!!


--------------------
bLueX@Neverland
:P
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Aug 18 2004, 11:05 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



No, I don't think its a hardware issue, I just think you didn't get the kernel compiled correctly, its a tough thing to do. Did you try to following the commands that the Slack Essentials Book gave you, because those should work. Delete your first try from /boot and delete your unpacked source, and start clean again with a fresh unpack, see where that gets you.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
azul79
post Aug 18 2004, 11:28 AM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 18-August 04
Member No.: 3,576



thank u!!
i' ll do it and let u know!
thanks!!


--------------------
bLueX@Neverland
:P
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
azul79
post Aug 19 2004, 07:19 AM
Post #6


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 18-August 04
Member No.: 3,576



hey!
i unpacked 2.4.26 v to see if it was a version problem.
but nop
it happens the same thing..
i think it might be a link problem..

what i di after all the installs is this:

cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/vmlinuz-2.4.27
cp System.map /boot/System.map-2.4.27
and then edit lilo and run it
/sbin/lilo -C /etc/lilo.conf

i dont find the problem sad.gif


--------------------
bLueX@Neverland
:P
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
azul79
post Aug 19 2004, 08:57 AM
Post #7


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 18-August 04
Member No.: 3,576



i read on a page..
http://www.linuxelectrons.com/article.php?...004013006062220

that it is necessary to uncomment my Makefile

Next open up '/usr/src/linux/Makefile'
Uncomment the line...
#export INSTALL_PATH=/boot
To read:

export INSTALL_PATH=/boot

is this necessary? is the first time i read this..
the Slack esential books says anything about it..
unsure.gif


--------------------
bLueX@Neverland
:P
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Aug 19 2004, 09:15 AM
Post #8


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Thats the same as doing the cp command that you have been doing, it just saves you a step. Six of one, half dozen of the other kind of thing. I am a little stumped on this issue. How are you configuring the kernel? That could be the problem.

If anyone else wants to jump in here I could use the help.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
azul79
post Aug 19 2004, 09:22 AM
Post #9


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 18-August 04
Member No.: 3,576



hey!
i really appreciate your help!! really thanks!!
what do u mean by..

" How are you configuring the kernel? "

do u mean what i do @menuconfig?
i tried to set most of the things.. just in case..

the strangest thing (@least for me.. ) is that i dont get to have an errror message... it would seem as an image path problem... i dont know! sad.gif
i' m getting crazy with this! huh.gif


--------------------
bLueX@Neverland
:P
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 10:27 AM