Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Dhcp, win98 clients acting strange
wolfsta
post Aug 17 2004, 05:30 PM
Post #1


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 20-November 03
Member No.: 1,836



Hey evry1

This is more of a windows question but thought someone may have come across this...

I setup a redhat 9.0 gateway box a while ago... and its the dhcp server for the building. At the moment we have no way of controlling the students internet access so the tutors just disconnect their rooms from the rest of the network.

The problem occurs randomly on some of the clients.. We have 95,98,ME,NT,2K and XP clients.... so far i have only seen the problem on the 9X clients.

What happens is the machine gets its ip details eg...

192.168.100.222
255.255.255.0
192.168.100.1

and randomly the client somehow changes its subnet to 255.255.0.0

This then stops them from printing in the room as the print server machine (just another client in the same room) still has the correct subnet 255.255.255.0

I cannot see any other details that have changed. It wont be the students fooling around or anything its just an office skills course.

Any tips appreciated.

Here is my dhcp.conf from the server

default-lease-time 1209600;
max-lease-time 2592000;
ddns-update-style ad-hoc;
option domain-name-servers 203.97.33.14 , 203.97.37.14;

subnet 192.168.100.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
range 192.168.100.10 192.168.100.250;
option routers 192.168.100.1;
}


The long leases are because i know that the tutors disconnect there rooms from the network from time to time.

Cheers

Wolfsta tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 18 2004, 06:06 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



This would be a problem only if the printer is on another network from the client ... ie, the printer is on 192.168.101.50, the client is 192.168.100.50, and there is a router of some kind in between. If the printer and computer are on the same physical segment (with no router in between), and the default gateway of the printer is set correctly, then it should still work.

I haven't seen this specific problem.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wolfsta
post Aug 18 2004, 09:29 PM
Post #3


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 20-November 03
Member No.: 1,836



Cheers... yeah nah i talked to a guy i know he said sounds like something in win98 but it just cant see the network but its ok ill just put up with it... trying to get rid of them anyways...

Thanks hughesjr

Wolfsta smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 09:25 PM