Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Linux 9.1 Personal And Sbc Dsl How Do I Get Online
shamirfortissimo
post Aug 16 2004, 12:38 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 16-August 04
Member No.: 3,562



I have a dual OS, Windows XP, and Linux 9.1 Personal. I am trying to figure out how I can get my Linux OS to go online with my sbc dsl. I have been told by sbc that the only thing they could reccomend was "Enternet for Linux" but it says on the site it was prepared for use with redhat5.2. and requires manual set up. Does any one know if there is a easier way. Also I have a compaq presario pc, and the dsl modem I am using is a speedstream 5100, it was supplied by sbc. When I am on my Linux os it does not register that my ethernet port is hooked up like it does when I am on my XP os. Any help I can get would be good.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Aug 16 2004, 03:18 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Which linux 9.1, Slackware, Mandrake?
If you are using Mandrake the Control Center has a wizard for configuring DSL connections. Look at the hardware section of the MCC. Does it show any details for your ethernet port? If not list the make and model. If not known then post the output of the console command:
lspci
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
shamirfortissimo
post Aug 16 2004, 03:34 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 16-August 04
Member No.: 3,562



It is Suse 9.1 I bought it so would it be mandrake?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Aug 16 2004, 05:36 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



No. The SuSE configuration tool is called Yast and it should be able to configure a DSL connection. I am not familar enough with SuSE or Yast to walk you through the steps.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 01:26 AM