Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Mouse Doesn't Work In Debian
frodo44
post Aug 11 2004, 03:18 PM
Post #1


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 95
Joined: 2-December 02
Member No.: 213



Hey, if you've been following my 2.6 Kernel posts (about the root not mounting), you'll know that I just installed Debian 3.0r2 a couple days ago. I finally got the 2.6 Kernel running, and I'm finally into X (long story), and now I can't use the mouse. I've tried a couple of things.
1. I've tried doing cat /dev/psaux, which succeeded (I got a bunch of garbledigook output)
2. I tried installing gpm (which I guess wasn't installed to begin with, because apt-get didn't freak out or anything)

I've googled this problem, and I've found a couple of similar posts, but no answers. Any idea why this is happening (obviously something is set up wrong, but I'm not sure what). BTW, I'm sure that I'm using the correct driver (The IMPS/2 driver for a logitech wheel mouse).

Thanks,
Eric


--------------------
Windows XP; Debian 3.0r2 (Woody)
---
Shuttle AK32 Mobo w/ Athlon XP 1700+ @ 266 FSB
GeForce 4 mx440 64mb
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz 5.1 Surround Sound
256 MB DDRAM
Seagate 80gb, Western Digital 40gb
---
weezle@charter.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Aug 11 2004, 06:26 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



What does your device section of your XF86Config file look like? I am sorry to ask, you probably already checked it, but I just want to see.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
frodo44
post Aug 11 2004, 09:03 PM
Post #3


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 95
Joined: 2-December 02
Member No.: 213



No problem... I was going to post it, but I didn't want to boot back into linux at the time. I'll repost when I get it (have to reboot... Argh!)

Eric


--------------------
Windows XP; Debian 3.0r2 (Woody)
---
Shuttle AK32 Mobo w/ Athlon XP 1700+ @ 266 FSB
GeForce 4 mx440 64mb
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz 5.1 Surround Sound
256 MB DDRAM
Seagate 80gb, Western Digital 40gb
---
weezle@charter.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
frodo44
post Aug 11 2004, 09:22 PM
Post #4


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 95
Joined: 2-December 02
Member No.: 213



All right, here it is:

CODE
Section     "InputDevice"
 Identifier "Configured Mouse"
 Driver     "mouse"
 Option    "CorePointer"
 Option    "Device"   "/dev/psaux"
 Option    "Protocol"   "ImPS/2"
 Option    "Emulate3Buttons"   "true"
 Option    "ZAxisMapping"   "4 5"
EndSection

Section     "InputDevice"
 Identifier "Generic Mouse"
 Driver     "mouse"
 Option    "SendCoreEvents"
 Option    "Device"   "/dev/input/mice"
 Option    "Protocol"   "ImPS/2"
 Option    "Emulate3Buttons"   "true"
 Option    "ZAxisMapping"   "4 5"
EndSection

...

Section "ServerLayout"
 ...
 InputDevice "Configured Mouse"
#InputDevice "Generic Mouse"
EndSection


For some reason, the configuration set up two mice, but I just commented out the one that I don't need.


--------------------
Windows XP; Debian 3.0r2 (Woody)
---
Shuttle AK32 Mobo w/ Athlon XP 1700+ @ 266 FSB
GeForce 4 mx440 64mb
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz 5.1 Surround Sound
256 MB DDRAM
Seagate 80gb, Western Digital 40gb
---
weezle@charter.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 12 2004, 06:34 AM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I had a problem with the 2.6 kernel and debian detecting my mouse on a pIII-800 machine ... I had to run the command:

mdetect

prior to entering X ... (or loading gpm).

If you can, boot to console mode, run mdetect, then startx and see if the mouse works.

(if you have xdm loading on bootup, you can use the command:

rm /etc/rc2.d/S99xdm

then reboot to get into console mode).


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
frodo44
post Aug 12 2004, 09:28 AM
Post #6


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 95
Joined: 2-December 02
Member No.: 213



Nope, didn't work...
mdetect returned this:

/dev/psaux
intellimouse

But it didn't make any difference when I logged into X. I checked a couple other things.
1) As far as I can tell my kernel is configured to support mice (my 2.6.7 one)
2) Doing cat /dev/psaux doesn't seem to do anything anymore ... I might have been trying to do it under my 2.4 kernel before... stupid mistake.

Thanks,
Eric

[edit]
As an afterthough, it might be something to mention that I had to install mdetect. Could this mean, perhaps, that there might be other programs I don't have installed that I need (Remember, I already had to install gpm, also...)?


--------------------
Windows XP; Debian 3.0r2 (Woody)
---
Shuttle AK32 Mobo w/ Athlon XP 1700+ @ 266 FSB
GeForce 4 mx440 64mb
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz 5.1 Surround Sound
256 MB DDRAM
Seagate 80gb, Western Digital 40gb
---
weezle@charter.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 15th December 2017 - 01:35 AM