Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Turn A Linux Box Into A 2 Port Wan Router
feef
post Aug 11 2004, 02:32 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 10-June 04
Member No.: 3,135



Hi Everyone!

I am getting 2 leased line connections. The extra line is for fallover purposes hehe.
Does anyone have any idea if there is any way that I can turn my RedHat 8.0 into a 2 port WAN router?

Thanks as usual! smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 11 2004, 05:54 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



You can certianly use linux to do that ... the easiest way is with 3 network cards ... one to each WAN and one to the internal nework.

Setting up outgoing traffic could be done (You could use BOTH lines at the same time for outgoing traffic), but incoming server traffic would be a little harder.

Do you have named servers (web, mail, DNS, etc.) that need to be seen from outside these dual connections?

How many IP addresses do you have (you will have at least 2)... and are they static?


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
feef
post Aug 11 2004, 09:19 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 10-June 04
Member No.: 3,135



I do not have anything like DNS, mail, etc on my servers. I will have 2 IP addresses, and they are dynamic.

I will probably need load balancing and QoS support (basically something like this http://www.planet.com.tw/product/product_d...267&menu_id=15) hehe. But seriously, load balancing is a must, although QoS will be something nice to have.

How do I go about setting up outgoing traffic, and incoming server traffic? And how do I handle 2 IP addresses on one linux box?

Is there anything that can enable me to do these?

Thanks a lot! smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 14th December 2017 - 11:55 AM