Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Noob Question Vnc Installation, Install VNC = Errors
help
post Aug 6 2004, 05:06 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 25-June 04
Member No.: 3,232



What I wanted to do was to use the mandrake 9.2 machine from my WinXP machine with Mouse/Keyboard/Screen.

Searching the internet I found VNC would do the job so I Downloaded and Installed vnc-4.0-1.i386.rpm, which resulted in the following error:

Installation failed:
file /usr/share/vnc/classes/index.vnc from install of vnc-4.0-1 conflicts with file from package tightvnc-1.2.7-5mdk

Searching the Internet again I found that VNC was already installed and I needed: tightvnc-server-1.2.9-1.i386.rpm, more errors:

Installation failed:
file /usr/share/vnc/classes/RfbProto.class from install of tightvnc-server-1.2.9-1 conflicts with file from package tightvnc-1.2.7-5mdk
file /usr/share/vnc/classes/VncViewer.class from install of tightvnc-server-1.2.9-1 conflicts with file from package tightvnc-1.2.7-5mdk
file /usr/share/vnc/classes/VncViewer.jar from install of tightvnc-server-1.2.9-1 conflicts with file from package tightvnc-1.2.7-5mdk

Can I please have help, all I want to do is use the computer as if I was sitting in front of it form my WinXP.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 6 2004, 06:08 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



you are having package version problems ... so I recommend that you use a dependancy solver like urpmi.

You can first update your Mandrake (like I hope you already do with windows) using this thread:
http://www.linuxhelp.ca/forums/index.php?a...t=ST&f=7&t=3490

Once you have your Mandrake updated (and it has the latest security / bugfixes), you can install the package you want with the command (in a terminal as the root user):

urpmi tightvnc-server

urpmi will then do all the hard work, like figure out if it needs to install any other packages, download the latest versions of all required packages and install them.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
help
post Aug 6 2004, 07:17 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 25-June 04
Member No.: 3,232



Thank you, I am just downloading the updates now.

Wish I had a faster connection...

Thx
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
help
post Aug 6 2004, 11:07 PM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 25-June 04
Member No.: 3,232



I installed the updates, about a quater of the way through I noticed that programs from the k menu were disapearing, I thought they were removed so you couldn't run the program while it was being updated, so I went out for a few hours and left it to update.

When I got back I found that it had been unpluged by someone, any way, when I booted it up it said that there were some file system problems that it then repaired, but when I went into the graphical enviroment the only icons in the menu were logout, logoff and applications -> editors -> kwrite. I logged off and restarted the graphical enviroment and still the same problem.

I ran the update again and it did another two updates that were very quick and then it said installation complete, you may want to update your dateabase. Again started up kde, same problem. Using KWrite I looked at my harddrives and everything seems to be there.

What went wrong???
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
help
post Aug 7 2004, 12:18 AM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 25-June 04
Member No.: 3,232



Here are the messages:

root]# urpmi --auto-select
To satisfy dependencies, the following packages are going to be installed (14 MB):
drakfirsttime-0.92-4.2.92mdk.noarch
gnome-applets-2.4.1-0.1.92mdk.i586
Is this OK? (Y/n) y
medium "Disk_2" uses an invalid list file:
mirror is probably not up-to-date, trying to use alternate method

http://mirrors.usc.edu/pub/linux/distribut...2mdk.noarch.rpm
http://mirrors.usc.edu/pub/linux/distribut....92mdk.i586.rpm
Installation failed, some files are missing:
http://mirrors.usc.edu/pub/linux/distribut...2mdk.noarch.rpm
http://mirrors.usc.edu/pub/linux/distribut....92mdk.i586.rpm
You may want to update your urpmi database


and to update the database:

root]# urpmi.update -a
examining MD5SUM file
examining synthesis file [/var/lib/urpmi/synthesis.hdlist.Disk_1.cz]
examining MD5SUM file
examining synthesis file [/var/lib/urpmi/synthesis.hdlist.Disk_2.cz]
examining MD5SUM file
examining synthesis file [/var/lib/urpmi/synthesis.hdlist.Disk_3.cz]
retrieving source hdlist (or synthesis) of "update_source"...
http://mirrors.usc.edu/pub/linux/distribut...official/update
s/9.2/base/synthesis.hdlist.cz
...retrieving done
examining synthesis file [/var/cache/urpmi/partial/hdlist.update_source.cz]
writing list file for medium "update_source"
found 0 headers in cache
removing 0 obsolete headers in cache
write config file [/etc/urpmi/urpmi.cfg]
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
help
post Aug 7 2004, 03:35 AM
Post #6


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 25-June 04
Member No.: 3,232



Used Mozila to acsess my files & folders, it appears the normal browser (I think it is Kongurer) is not acessable, despite cliking on the icon ¨Home¨ on my desktop.

Looking into the folder /usr/share/applnk-mdk and applnk-mdk-simplified they only appear to have a .directory file in them.

I think it should have a Configuration folder in it. There was a welcome icon on the desktop and it opened up with a link to the configuration program, it then had an error:

Unable to run the command specified. The file or directory file:/usr/share/applnk-mdk/Configuration/Configure your computer.desktop does not exist.

Maybe this helps.

Thx in advance.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 7 2004, 04:25 AM
Post #7


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



The k-menu thing sometimes happens ... here is a fix fro the Mandrake Bugzilla:

* From the Graphical environment:
- launch Mandrake Control Center
- Go to "System" and launch "MenuDrake"
- Click on "System Menu Configure"
- Click on "Save" and wait until it finishes updating.
- Exit MenuDrake.
- Check menus and see everything there.

* From the command line:
- as root, run "update-menus -v "
- After no more messages appear, press "Enter".
- Check menus and see everything there.

---------------------


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 7 2004, 04:31 AM
Post #8


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



The disk_2 error that says:

medium "Disk_2" uses an invalid list file:
mirror is probably not up-to-date, trying to use alternate method

Is a common problem that shouldn't effect anything.
---------------
You might want to pick a closer mirror ... one way is to use http://easyurpmi.zarb.org/.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
help
post Aug 7 2004, 07:06 PM
Post #9


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 25-June 04
Member No.: 3,232



Thx, I probably would have reinstalled mandrake if it wasn't for you.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 01:23 AM