Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Noob Question. Mounting Fat Drive For User, Can't use non-root account to mount FAT3
heylan
post Aug 5 2004, 11:35 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 25-May 04
Member No.: 3,034



Dear all,

Noob question again. I can't get my user accounts to read a FAT32 drive.

I've tried changing the permissions on the /mnt/windoze directory but it doesn't change anything at all (any idea why?). It shows rwxr--r-- for the drive. However, if I unmount the drive, the permission goes to rwxr-xr-x. Why is this so?

My second step is to edit the fstab file. Instead of default, I replaced it with noauto,users,exec,dev,suid. Then I logged in with the user account and tried to mount it - says 'only root can mount'.

So basically, I'm stuck. Should be an easy problem for you guys.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks! wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lesio1974
post Aug 5 2004, 12:57 PM
Post #2


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 210
Joined: 8-March 04
From: Chicago, USA
Member No.: 2,544



try replacing "defaults" with "umask=0000" in your fstab;

my fstab line for the FAT32 partition looks like this:

CODE
/dev/hdb6               /linwin                 vfat    umask=0000        0 0


and it works fine

good luck

g


--------------------
-- The Pole
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 6 2004, 06:02 AM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



OR

Use auto instead of noauto ... and and maybe do this (which will mount the partition when you boot the PC):
CODE
/dev/hdb6               /linwin                 vfat    auto,defaults,umask=0000        0 0


I used lesio1974's eaxmple ... obviously, you would use your device and mount point


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th October 2017 - 05:24 PM