Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Cluster Or Backup?
asyadiqin
post Aug 5 2004, 05:06 AM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 3,486

Hi,

I have 2 servers, each at different locations and running FC2. I am quite new in using Linux and would like to know if there is any solutions that I could use to, sort of redirect all http and mail the main server in 1 location to the 2nd location, should the main server goes down.

I was told about clustering, but was told that it would need both server to be on the same location. But I need something that I can use with servers on different locations.

Any help and pointers would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Allie Syadiqin
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 5 2004, 06:27 AM
Post #2

Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net

Group: Admin
Member No.: 1,151

OK ...

For the e-mail server, it is easy. You create a second MX record for your e-mail domain(s) that points to the second (backup) server with a higher priority number.

If you look at the mx records for abc.com (I just picked that out of the blue) .. with the command:

dig -t mx abc.com

you will see what I mean in the answer section:
CODE
;; ANSWER SECTION:
abc.com.                3519    IN      MX      10 mail1a.disney.com.
abc.com.                3519    IN      MX      10 mail2a.disney.com.
abc.com.                3519    IN      MX      10 mail11a.disney.com.
abc.com.                3519    IN      MX      10 mail12a.disney.com.
abc.com.                3519    IN      MX      15 mail11.disney.com.
abc.com.                3519    IN      MX      20 mail.disney.com.