Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.


Sign Up Now
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Realplayer 7, Configure As Executable, How do I set this up?
post Aug 1 2004, 04:47 AM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 1-August 04
Member No.: 3,458

I just finished downloading RealPlayer 7 from the RealPlayer website. There was a note saying that I'd have to convert the file to an executable to run it in Linux. My filename is rp7_Linux-alpha_debianslink_cs2.bin. What do I need to do to get this thing to run? I'm running Linspire, 4.5, or 4.7? Not sure. Posting this in Windows. If you can send me an E-mail, my address is New to Linux, thank you for the help!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
post Aug 1 2004, 02:36 PM
Post #2

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 29-June 04
Member No.: 3,257

Switch to root (ie type):


then type

chmod a+x rp7_Linux-alpha_debianslink_cs2.bin

I suspect you'll have to run the executable as root too, so type


When I first started in Linux (1999), I had the same problem trying to get a StarOffice download to run. I was practically crying because I was so frustrated. Nobody mentioned that you had to mark a download as executable. It was assumed you knew. This is, alas, how much of the world of Linux works.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
post Aug 1 2004, 03:16 PM
Post #3


Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 22-July 04
From: raleigh, NC
Member No.: 3,403

You may like this instead, its more up-to-date smile.gif

Fedora Core rawhide, RHEL WS, ES, AS :)
Red Hat Certified Engineer
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd March 2018 - 05:52 PM