Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Hypothetical Question...., don't need a full answer...
Jim
post Jul 28 2004, 12:23 PM
Post #1


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Ok, so lets just start by saying I don't want somebody to spend a chunk of time writing a full how to on this before I even know if I want to do it.

My plan here is to put my new server in front of my network instead of on it. So than it would run a DHCP server for the rest of the computers and the wireless router. My domain name will be pointed to the IP address of my server obviously and thus the apache server and everything will be on there. What I want to be able to do is tunel through to my other computers an the network directly, instead of opening up a connection to my server, than a connection to my desktop.

So what would it take to have something like argento.opendissent.com point me to my desktop wile www.opendissent.com still goes to my server. Do I need to be running my own DNS server for that? What do I need roughly and how big of a project is this? I know we do it at the U, every lab computer has its own name and you just go to homer.itlabs.umn.edu to log into that computer, but I don't know how you do that.

Just a simple answer will do.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adam.stokes
post Jul 28 2004, 06:57 PM
Post #2


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 22-July 04
From: raleigh, NC
Member No.: 3,403



Well to my understanding to have something like argento.opendissent.com and www.opendissent.com you would need to setup dhcp and dns but this would only be useful for a local network because for someone to get to your computer outside of your network your isp would have to register your box as a true dns server which is highly doubtful.

or you could use a service like dyndns.org which provides dns capabilities so that you can have a custom domain name that will point to your main box in which there you could setup some iptables scripts to redirect ssh,http access to go to certain machines on your network.

Hope this helps kind of jumbled together but to have true dns you would probably need to be an isp or know of a way to get your dns servers registerd with icann etc..


--------------------
adam.stokes
Fedora Core rawhide, RHEL WS, ES, AS :)
Red Hat Certified Engineer
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jul 28 2004, 08:23 PM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I use a Linux Machine as my firewall / web / mail server.

It has 2 NICs ... one connected to my Cable Modem ... once conected to my internal network (a 24 port hub).

I use a firewall script to do IPMASQ ... the external network gets a DHCP address via my ISP ... the internal card is set to 192.168.0.1.

I use the firewall script here ... slightly modified.

I run a DHCP server on the internal interface (on the 192.168.0.0 network), a caching DNS server, LAMP web server, Mail Server (Postfix-MailScanner-ClamAV-SpamAssassin) on this machine.

I use zoneedit.com's dynamic DNS service and this script to keep the info updated at zoneedit for hughesjr.com.

I used the DHCP guide, DNS guide, LAMP server guide and Mail Server Guide posted here in the guides forum to do those services. In fact, I wrote the guides while building my server.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jul 29 2004, 05:54 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Here is the firewall script I use ... I put it in /etc/rc.d ... it is named rc.firewall ... it is set to chmod 750 and runs on startup by putting a line that says /etc/rc.d/rc.firewall in /etc/rc.d/rc.local and making sure the normal iptables does not start.

http://www.hughesjr.com/wbel/rc.firewall.txt


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th October 2017 - 07:31 PM