Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Flashplayer Installation, Understanding Instlal ation
fordno1
post Jul 25 2004, 12:12 AM
Post #1


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 23-July 04
Member No.: 3,415



This is the install directions. I am alittle confused about it. I do it from the shell and I get the message: bash: ./flashplayer-installer: No such file or directory.--- Any instructions/info/help is greatly appreciated by this newby to Mandrake 10.0.

This installer is script-based and cannot be run from a GUI.


- Uncompress install_flash_player_7_linux.tar.gz. A directory called install_flash_player_7_linux is created. Navigate to this directory.


- From the command line, type ./flashplayer-installer to run the installer. The installer will instruct you to shut down your browser(s).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Jul 25 2004, 04:12 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Open up a console window.
Navigate by using the cd command to directory where the install_flash_player_47_linux.tar.gz file is located.

This is compressed tar file. To uncompress the file:
tar -zxvf install_flash_player_47_linux.tar.gz

Now change to this directory install_flash_player_7_linux using the cd command. You should now be able to run the installer.

./flashplayer-installer
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fordno1
post Jul 25 2004, 08:11 PM
Post #3


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 23-July 04
Member No.: 3,415



Thanks for the info. I am going to ask for alittle more detailed instruction on the "cd" command. I really don't understand it. Thanks for any info/help.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Jul 25 2004, 08:45 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



The cd is the change directory command used to change the current working directory.
To navigate to say your home directory you would type in:
cd /home/<your user name>
There are several shortcuts
~ is a shortcut for your home directory
cd ~ is the same thing as /home/<your user name>
If you are in your home directory and there is a subdirectory called mp3 then all you need is:
cd mp3 (instead of /home/<your user name>/mp3
cd ..
will go up the tree. So you were in mp3 and now your back to your home.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fordno1
post Jul 26 2004, 08:52 PM
Post #5


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 23-July 04
Member No.: 3,415



OK, after some trial and error and no clue how I did it, it started to install. I get to this and don't know what to type- I am not sure of the path. Any ideas----
Please enter the installation path of the Mozilla, Netscape,
or Opera browser (i.e., /usr/lib/mozilla):

I typed -- fordno1/lib/mozilla and get this message

WARNING: /fordno1/lib/mozilla is not a directory.

I know I am typing something wrong. Can you help.

Thanks!! biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jul 27 2004, 08:47 PM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



You need to know where mozilla (or firefox if you are using it) is installed on your PC .... it is normally in /usr/lib/mozilla, but it is not found there on your install.

For Manrake 10, try this:

/usr/lib/mozilla-1.6


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fordno1
post Jul 28 2004, 06:36 AM
Post #7


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 23-July 04
Member No.: 3,415



Thanks for the info. I did that and that worked but now I got this--

Proceed with the installation? (y/n/q): y
cp: cannot stat `/tmp/kde-fordno1/arkKcYiiw/install_flash_player_7_linux/libflashplayer.so': No such file or directory
cp: cannot stat `/tmp/kde-fordno1/arkKcYiiw/install_flash_player_7_linux/flashplayer.xpt': No such file or directory
chmod: cannot access `/usr/lib/mozilla-1.6/plugins/libflashplayer.so': No such file or directory
chmod: cannot access `/usr/lib/mozilla-1.6/plugins/flashplayer.xpt': No such file or directory

What happened??
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 10:30 AM