Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Vt 6103 Integrated Ethernet Problems
nate11000
post Jul 24 2004, 08:01 AM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 3,417

I'm very new to linux and am having trouble getting my ethernet to work. I'm currently running KnoppMyth on my machine with a kernel of 2.4.25-chw. I have looked all over the internet looking for a driver for my integrated VT 6103 chip, and I can't find one... but I did finally find something that said that the VT 8235 rhinefelt.o would work. I downloaded it from viaarena, put it on cd and put that on the linux computer and finally figured out how to compile it. I then copied the rhinefelt.o file to the /lib/modules/2.4.25-chw/kernel/modules/net/ directory, following the instructions of the included textfile. I then went into the modules.conf which said that it was autogenerated and to look at the files in /etc/modutils so I went to that directory, modified a file called aliases to put in the line 'alias eth0 rhinefelt.o'

Still no ethernet... I have no idea what to do next. I'm at a complete loss and I can't find any other help on the internet. Thanks for looking at this post, and any information you can provide will be greatly appreciated!!!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jul 26 2004, 07:34 AM
Post #2

Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net

Group: Admin
Member No.: 1,151

What is the output of the command:

modprobe rhinefelt.o

--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE