Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Source Directory-where Is It
fordno1
post Jul 23 2004, 11:15 PM
Post #1


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 23-July 04
Member No.: 3,415



New to Linux(Mandrake 10.0). Where is the Source Directory. I would like to install Digikam and according to the README file- I need to do it from the Source Directory. Thanks for any help and information.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adam.stokes
post Jul 23 2004, 11:18 PM
Post #2


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 22-July 04
From: raleigh, NC
Member No.: 3,403



Source directory is where you uncompressed the file too.

Since it is asking that particular item im assuming you downloaded a package that will need to be installed from source to do this goto your shell and un-compress the package you downloaded

next cd into that uncompressed package directory type

./configure

then

make

finally su to get into root user and type

make install


--------------------
adam.stokes
Fedora Core rawhide, RHEL WS, ES, AS :)
Red Hat Certified Engineer
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fordno1
post Jul 23 2004, 11:23 PM
Post #3


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 23-July 04
Member No.: 3,415



what is "cd". I haven't heard/seen that before. I downloaded it to the desktop. I am guessing I type <Desktop> in the "directory" location??
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adam.stokes
post Jul 23 2004, 11:26 PM
Post #4


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 22-July 04
From: raleigh, NC
Member No.: 3,403



Hi,

Perhaps a bit of research on your part is necessary would you please check out this link

http://www.tldp.org/LDP/intro-linux/html/index.html

It will run you through some hands-on training to learning the basics of Linux

I hope this guide will help you in solving other similar issues you may run into


--------------------
adam.stokes
Fedora Core rawhide, RHEL WS, ES, AS :)
Red Hat Certified Engineer
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fordno1
post Jul 23 2004, 11:37 PM
Post #5


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 23-July 04
Member No.: 3,415



Thanks. I will take a look at it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jul 24 2004, 08:32 AM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



cd means change directory ... it is a command that you type in a terminal window in Linux (or dos) to move to another directory.

Please read our newbies FAQ for some that and some other basic info for linux as well ... hey, we all started sometime smile.gif

------------------------------------

Instead of building Digikam from source, you probably want to install the RPM version for Mandrake 10.x.

First, you should configure urpmi to be able to do updates (as per instructions in this thread).

(all commands are to be typed in a terminal window as root)

(you may need to find a closer mirror than the one listed in my example ... make sure to use the 10.0 path and not the 9.2 path for the mirror)

Once urpmi is configured, you can install the latest version of digkam with the command (in a terminal window as root):

urpmi.update -a
urpmi digikam


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th October 2017 - 06:41 AM