Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Apache - Blocked On Non-localhost
discofunk
post Jul 22 2004, 05:26 AM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 3,399

Hi, First off, I'm a newbie.

I just installed FC2 and I am trying to get apache going. It serves pages on the local box, but when I try to access the server from another computer I get "The Page Cannot Be Displayed". I have 2 ethernet cards on the box (wondering if that might be the problem). I can ping the FC2 box from other computers (using same IP as the webserver) but just can't access the web pages. I've turned the Firewall on (with HTTP checked) and off to try both options.

Before this, I was using Windows IIS and everything worked fine so I don't believe it is a external routing issue.

I had Samba configured and working, but since then I've totally disabled the "intranet" ethernet card for troubleshooting purposes and now only have the one card connected directly to my DSL modem.

I'm not using the virtual hosts yet and have not changed the default directories so the pages should be being served from /var/www/html

I've tried setting the permissions in that directory to different settings, but that doesn't seem to do anything....

Any Ideas would be appreciated (I'm sure its a simple problem I'm overlooking).
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
fandfurious88
post Jul 23 2004, 12:15 PM
Post #2

Member No.: 2,746

You mention your DSL modem... are you trying to access things over the internet and through your DSL modem? If so, it's possible you ISP disabled web ports (eg. 80).

+Quote Post
discofunk
post Jul 23 2004, 01:31 PM
Post #3