Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Hardware Controls In Kde
frodo44
post Jul 19 2004, 07:05 PM
Post #1


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 95
Joined: 2-December 02
Member No.: 213



Hi,

I just installed slack 10, and I'm kinda wondering where the menu is to change basic hardware things (ie Monitor, Mouse, etc). I'm positive that it was in previous KDE versions (I'm running KDE 3.2.3, btw), but I can't seem to get to the menus. I realize that this can be done through the command line, but I would rather use some of the presets from KDE. If anyone knows if there is something I'm just stupidly missing, please post back, or if they've come across the same problem. Sorry for the stupid question, but I couldn't find anything about it in the KDE documentation.

Eric

PS. I'm pretty sure that the means to do this used to be in a window that opens up the menus that I can get (from the wrench icon on the taskbar), such as the monitor resolution and mouse speed settings. However, there is absolutely no mention of changing any of the hardware. Ugh!


--------------------
Windows XP; Debian 3.0r2 (Woody)
---
Shuttle AK32 Mobo w/ Athlon XP 1700+ @ 266 FSB
GeForce 4 mx440 64mb
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz 5.1 Surround Sound
256 MB DDRAM
Seagate 80gb, Western Digital 40gb
---
weezle@charter.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jul 20 2004, 06:59 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



The hardware detection and changes are part of the distro ... and Slackware doesn't provide any GUI way to do that.

There is a KDE Control Center ... but you already found that.

Fedora Core, Mandrake and SUSE do provide GUI tools for things like that in their distros.

Slackware, Debian and Gentoo do not...


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
frodo44
post Jul 20 2004, 12:38 PM
Post #3


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 95
Joined: 2-December 02
Member No.: 213



I see...
Are there any "third party" sort of hardware controllers that I might get from sourceforge or freshmeat? Or will I just have to grit my teeth and dive into the XF86Config?

Thanks,

Eric


--------------------
Windows XP; Debian 3.0r2 (Woody)
---
Shuttle AK32 Mobo w/ Athlon XP 1700+ @ 266 FSB
GeForce 4 mx440 64mb
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz 5.1 Surround Sound
256 MB DDRAM
Seagate 80gb, Western Digital 40gb
---
weezle@charter.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jul 20 2004, 07:09 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I normally edit my XF86Config by hand anyway ...

What is your monitor make/model, your video card make/model, and your mouse make/model?


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
frodo44
post Jul 21 2004, 01:46 PM
Post #5


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 95
Joined: 2-December 02
Member No.: 213



ViewSonic E771
NVidia GeForce 4 Mx440 SE
Logitech [Optical Mouse?] w/ Scroll Wheel

I'm not quite sure of the Model of the Mouse, it doesn't say anything on the bottom other than Optical Mouse and some serial numbers.

Thanks,
Eric


--------------------
Windows XP; Debian 3.0r2 (Woody)
---
Shuttle AK32 Mobo w/ Athlon XP 1700+ @ 266 FSB
GeForce 4 mx440 64mb
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz 5.1 Surround Sound
256 MB DDRAM
Seagate 80gb, Western Digital 40gb
---
weezle@charter.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 14th December 2017 - 01:23 AM