Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Empty Html Files, Where'd they go?
[BH]boogieman
post Jul 14 2004, 08:56 PM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 3,344

I'm new to Linux (installed it just days ago) and I'm having a rather confusing problem, among others.

So I'm using my computer for web development, and set it up as a web server. The problem is that HTML files aren't visible (to a browser) under my cgi-bin directory. I can view them outside of that directory, and my CGI scripts in the directory work just fine. But whenever I try to access HTML under cgi-bin, I get an empty file in my browser. I even made a file that was visible in the public_html directory, but wouldn't load when copied under cgi-bin.

I'm sure it's probably something little I need to change, probably in a configuration file, but I haven't had any success with that yet. Any help would be appreciated.

-boogieman

--------------------
Once again, I am free to smite the world as I did in days long past.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
dlab
post Jul 15 2004, 12:47 AM
Post #2

Grub-er

Member No.: 3,175

Check to make sure the executable bit isn't set. Try "chmod a-x *.html *.htm" in the cgi-bin dir on a tty or in xterm or konsole or whatever terminal you use, and see if that will help.

--------------------
The computer is the ultimate polluter, its s__t is indistinguishable from the food it produces.
user posted image--Found somewhere in the Fortune game.

+Quote Post
[BH]boogieman
post Jul 16 2004, 06:11 PM
Post #3

No, executable bit isn't set. Good thought though.