Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
> Lan Card ?
NeilE
post Jul 13 2004, 01:29 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 27-June 04
Member No.: 3,241



G'day,
I'm restarting an oldish MoBo (A7V) and will need a LAN card to connect it to my ADSL modem.
Dose anyone know which brand/model I should buy?
Running Fedora C1.
TIA.


--------------------
Old nooby
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 4)
Jim
post Jul 13 2004, 02:25 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



In my opinion it doesn't make a whole lot of difference. 3Coms are gonna be really nice, and pricey, and excesive. I would recomend to try to stay away from the bottom of the barrel generic ones as some times they have wiered drive issues. In general, any middle of the road Belkin of Lynksis type ethernet controler is going to be fine.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post Jul 13 2004, 06:51 PM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



i've had good experiences with anything requiring the ne2k-pci (network anywhere compatible card) and the 8139too modules (realtek 8139 chipset). I would suggest going with either of these.


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jul 15 2004, 07:44 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I have had good luck with netgear fa-311 in Linux and WinXP....and they are pretty cheap.

I also have had no problems with intel e-100 or e-100 clones.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
NeilE
post Jul 15 2004, 04:26 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 27-June 04
Member No.: 3,241



Thanks,
I should have mentioned that my modem/router is a Netgear 834, so I've bought a Netgear FA311 Rev-02 card.
Twice the price of the 'cheepys' and half the price of the 3COMM.
It will run on 3.5v or 5v.
I don't think I will ever be needing 1000MB. (Dreaming.......Money).
Netgear are very supportive of Linux.
I don't think I'll have any problems setting it up, apart from the usual IRQ problems that come with this MoBo.
Thanks again, Neil.


--------------------
Old nooby
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2017 - 02:22 PM