Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Linux Drivers Help, Help for Linux broadband modem Drivers
ZhiYi
post Jan 16 2003, 09:24 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 16-January 03
Member No.: 332



Hi !!
I have just installed RedHat Linux 8.0 on my pc. Its a great OS. It can detect n configure many hardware.

However,it seems that it cant detect my Aztech DSL Turbo 100 Broadband modem and external Zip 100 drive. I used the detect hardware software and these 2 pieces of hardware did not appear on the list.

Do you know if Redhat Linux 8.0 supports these 2 pieces of hardware? If not,do you know which websites offer drivers for the broadband modem and external Zip drive for RedHat Linux 8.0 ?

Please reply as soon as possible ok? Thanks !!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hemant
post Jan 16 2003, 08:29 PM
Post #2


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 782
Joined: 6-October 02
From: Trichy,INDIA
Member No.: 29



what is manufacturer of your zip drive?and sorry at least till now ur hrdware Aztech is not supported by Redhat-8.but u can check out on
http://www.sourceforge.com
http://www.freshmeat.com
if anyone else has written driver for ur card.
by the way u can also check whether ur piece of hrdware(any) is supported by ur Redhat or not urself,u don't need to be a linux guru for that just go the website
http://redhat.com/support


--------------------
Hemant Kumar
user posted image
hemant@linuxhelp.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
frodo44
post Jan 18 2003, 12:18 PM
Post #3


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 95
Joined: 2-December 02
Member No.: 213



I have to ask a question here to determine what kind of broadband modem you have. If it's and internal one the hooks up to a pci slot, you're probably out of luck. If it's an external, there are two more possibilites. If you have it hooked up by a USB port, linux would probably have trouble recognizing it. The other possibility is if it's connected via ethernet. The way my LAN topology works is like this:

Modem
|
Cable/DSL Router
|
Four port Hub
| |
| Pc Only
Pc/Linux Box

And it works fine like that. I'll have you know if your going for this strategy it's probably going to cost about $100. Basically all you're doing here is setting up the broadband as an external WAN link from somewhere else on you network, instead of going straight to your computer.


--------------------
Windows XP; Debian 3.0r2 (Woody)
---
Shuttle AK32 Mobo w/ Athlon XP 1700+ @ 266 FSB
GeForce 4 mx440 64mb
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz 5.1 Surround Sound
256 MB DDRAM
Seagate 80gb, Western Digital 40gb
---
weezle@charter.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th December 2017 - 10:19 PM