Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Problem With Red Hat Installation, cant seem to get to the log in screen
yelpingsalmon
post Jul 6 2004, 08:30 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 6-July 04
Member No.: 3,299



I just recently installed Red Hat. After the install it rebooted and did all its installation business, but then when it tried to boot for the first time my monitor goes black. And it stays black...i dont even get to the log in screen. Someone please tell me what i should do...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Jul 6 2004, 09:26 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



I am guessing that your having a problem because your video card isn't configured yet. Start by switching over to a command line boot, than tell us what kind of video card you have and we can go from there.

To switch over to a command line boot follow these steps:

Fire up your machine and when grub loads up highlight the Red Hat boot option

Press e to edit the line

Arrow down to the kernel line and pretty e again.

Add the word single and pretty [enter]

Now press b to boot the edited line.

Ounce the system boots up you will be in whats called sinlge user mode. Change directories to /etc and fire up an editor of your choice, emacs is good, and open the inittab file
emacs /etc/inittab

change the line
id:5:initdefault:[b/]
to
[b]id:3:initdefault:


and reboot, that should get you a command prompt. If it doesn't, we will need to try something else.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
yelpingsalmon
post Jul 7 2004, 09:22 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 6-July 04
Member No.: 3,299



Ok I tried that, but it still does the same thing...after going through the install checklist er w/e monitor turns black and makes sparkly noise. I noticed something though, when it was going through the list.
It said everything was [OK] in green lettering except for this thing..."Bringing up interface eth(theta symbol).....[FAILED] then beneath that it says something about "is link cable connected?"

So im guessing I put the wrong monitor in when i installed...O_o

I'm sure i had to right video card cuz i looked it up, but I wasn't sure about the monitor.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Jul 7 2004, 10:57 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



eth stands for ethernet, so that just means your system isn't on-line. Durring the boot up does it say "Entering Run Level 5" or 3?


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
yelpingsalmon
post Jul 7 2004, 11:07 AM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 6-July 04
Member No.: 3,299



It says 5.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jul 7 2004, 06:47 PM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Do you have a NFORCE 2 motherboard and an Nvidia video card?

You have to boot to console mode ... ie run level 3, to fix the problem.

when booting, at the grub prompt, press e.

go to the kernel line and press e again ....

add a space and 3 at the end of the kernel line.

You should then boot into run level 3.

Then run redhat-config-xfree86


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
yelpingsalmon
post Jul 7 2004, 10:10 PM
Post #7


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 6-July 04
Member No.: 3,299



It allowed me to boot in level 3. I tried to run that program, but once again black screen of death.

128mb DDR NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200
idk what my motherboard is...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jul 8 2004, 06:34 AM
Post #8


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



you will need to edit your /etc/X11/XF86Config file by hand .... using a console editor.

vim or emacs or pico could be available.

You will need to know how to operate these editors ... pico is probably the easiest if you don't know how to use one of the other ones.

You need to search for and find the line:

Driver "nvidia"

(or Driver "some_text" if it is not set to "nvidia")

change the text inside the quote to "vesa" ... so now it should be:

Driver "vesa"
----------------
Next, set the monitor to a generic monitor ... find the lines:

HorizSync
VertRefresh

Set them to this:

HorizSync 30-35
VertRefresh 50-70


This save the file ... this should allow you to at least boot into a mode so you can set your video card up.

I would recommend that you use FedoraCore 2 instead of RedHat ... the hardware detection is much better....


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th October 2017 - 07:21 PM