Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> How Would You Use Aol With Linux?
spiroth10
post Jul 6 2004, 07:56 PM
Post #1


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 21-February 04
Member No.: 2,431



yeah, I know AOL is horrible, but I'm not the one who picks out which internet service I get. I cant get online with it while using a linux machine, and it gets really annoying. I cant use tools such as pengaol, because I'm using the ltmodem winmodem driver (which works fine with my modem), and I think it only works with wvdial... nothing else i've tried works with it. unless there's a way to crack their password system i'd say im pretty much screwed with this problem... either that, or if I can get my winmodem driver to work with other networking programs (i.e. pengaol or redhat's configuring tool). thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Jul 6 2004, 09:31 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Try Peng also called PengAOL, it should work.

http://sourceforge.net/projects/pengaol/

http://www.yolinux.com/TUTORIALS/LinuxTutorialAOL.html


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wookmaster
post Jul 7 2004, 06:32 AM
Post #3


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 82
Joined: 4-February 04
From: Michigan
Member No.: 2,290



I havnt used dial up in a long time but cant you just get the phone number and dial in with any program using your username and password?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post Jul 7 2004, 10:02 PM
Post #4


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



Some (Juno comes to mind) you cannot. The only way to do so would log on with their program (while having PPoP logging enabled), and you can find the username/password you need.


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2017 - 05:43 PM