Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Need Help With Kde Or Gnome, mainly speed issues...
spiroth10
post Jul 5 2004, 02:31 PM
Post #1


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 21-February 04
Member No.: 2,431



ok. I like redhat linux and KDE and/or gnome. KDE is faster than gnome, but still slow on my 63mb RAM 667mhz machine. I have featherlinux installed now, but it doesnt have the "wide-support" I'm looking for. also, I'm on dial-up, so getting another window manager is out of the question for me (I got my cd's from a friend, due to the same problem). so is there a way to make it run faster? it can take 1-20 minutes to load something (it can take 5-30 with gnome) and It really annoys me. I've looked into other (small) window managers, but they need many many packages that don't come with redhat "out of the box" and, as I said finding and getting those packages can take 30 minutes to an hour on 56k. Im pretty much stuck... Another big thing with me moving back to redhat is that it's easy to install winmodem support with a patch, unlike other systems which dont have a package installer (mainly feather/damnsmall/other mini distros) so, any help on speeding things up would be nice.... having such a sucky pc and internet is horrible. thanx.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Jul 5 2004, 03:52 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hello there!,


well....this might be a serious problem then... you know Red Hat 9 with Gnome and KDE (which is not that old) is like running windows XP GUI....all those effects take up a lot of resources....plus the system needs some ram to function as well....with 63MB ram it's quiet hard to run GNOME or KDE fast (impossible), I would reccomend enlightment, if you could somehow get it....


the problem is, which you can see youreself... just type in a terminal or console
CODE
top
that almost no free memory available for the other applications...so they use swap....and that is slow even on a fast hard drive....

you can either somehow get enlightment....or get some used 128MB sdram modules...


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Jul 5 2004, 06:23 PM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



If you go into K menu (start menu) and go into settings and find Desktop Settings Wizard, there is a screen where it asks you to choose the amount of "eye-candy" you want in your desktop. Set that all the way to zero and it might help you a little bit.

I would really suggest going with Enlightenment of Fluxbox though, thats what they are designed to do.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st October 2017 - 01:41 AM