Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Wireless Card Problems In Mandrake, noob help plz!
litehedded
post Jul 3 2004, 09:34 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 3-July 04
Member No.: 3,280



I installed mandrake 10 and everything seems to be working fine. but when booting eth0 (my NIC supposedly) and eth1 (wireless card) always fail and I have to "iwconfig eth1 essid networkname" to get it to work everytime.
after I do that I can browse fine.
its a sager laptop with onboard prism a/b/g wifi
and shouldn't it be wlan instead of eth? from what I've seen anyway.
any help you could offer would be greatly appreciated
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jul 3 2004, 10:37 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



If everything is working when you issue the command manually, probably the best thing to do is this:

edit the file /etc/rc/d/rc.local

and at the bottom (after the current last line in the file), add the following line:

/sbin/iwconfig eth1 essid networkname

I assume that iwconfig is in /sbin (I don't have a wireless card in my Mandrake 10 test install) ... do the command:

which iwconfig

and if iwconfig is in a different directory, replace the path to iwconfig with the results.
---------------
The reason I recommend doing it this way is that the problem is probably the order that things are loading ... and rather than risking breaking something (like hotplug detection), you can just try loading it last ... after all the modules are loaded.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
litehedded
post Jul 3 2004, 11:33 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 3-July 04
Member No.: 3,280



did you mean /etc/rc.d/rc.local?
I assume you did but I don't wanna hose the wrong file.
and yes, it's in /sbin/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Jul 3 2004, 11:46 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

yes, he ment /etc/rc.d/rc.local

Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
litehedded
post Jul 3 2004, 12:37 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 3-July 04
Member No.: 3,280



ok that seemed to do it.
however when booting eth0 fails and so does eth1 (my wifi) but on eth1 it seems to hang for along time before failing. but once it's up and running it seems to work.
what do you think is causing that?

and on an urelated note...why are the fonts so tiny when I'm browsing in linux as opposed to windows? the fonts on this forum appear particularly tiny.
i'm using firefox btw
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 11th December 2017 - 09:50 PM