Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Screen Resolution, How to change screen resolution?
heylan
post Jun 30 2004, 07:43 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 25-May 04
Member No.: 3,034



Hi,

I would like to know how to change the screen resolution for my KDE. I have tried changing the line "vga=787" in the lilo.conf file but it doesn't change anything.

I found nothing in XF86Config or xinitrc.kde that has anything to do with resolution. Can anyone advise?

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post Jun 30 2004, 08:08 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



The vga= option in lilo refers to console only, not KDE (X-server).

You need to edit your "/etc/X11/XF86Config" and look in the screens section for something like this:

QUOTE
Section "Screen"
    Driver      "nv"
    Device      "Gefore"
    Monitor    "Generic Multisync"
    DefaultColorDepth 16
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth      8
      Modes      "1024x768"
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth      16
        Modes      "1024x768"
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth      24
        Modes      "1024x768"
    EndSubsection
EndSection


Under the setting you have for default depth, add in what resoultions you want *supported*. For example, if under 16-bit i wanted to add 800x600, then that subsection would look like:

QUOTE
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth        16
        Modes        "1024x768" "800x600"
    EndSubsection


While in X (KDE), you can cycle through resolutions by press the keyboard combination of Ctrl+Alt+(-) (control+alt+minus) or Ctrl+Alt+(+) (control+alt+plus).


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Jun 30 2004, 06:00 PM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Most of the distros have a gui tool to alow you to change it somewhere. KDE has it in the controle center under Perfipherals-Display.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
heylan
post Jul 1 2004, 04:46 AM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 25-May 04
Member No.: 3,034



Thanks guys. I've tried the manual method (editing the XF86Config file) but it doesn't work.

Under KDE's Control Panel->Peripherals->X, I've managed to change the display. Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 10:34 AM