Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> How To Change Wm In Mandrake 10.0, using KDE, want to try iceWM
Onestep
post Jun 30 2004, 06:46 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 27-June 04
Member No.: 3,240



Using the Mandrake Control Center I selected icsWM to install. It asked me to insert Mandrake Disk 2 which I did. After all was done and said I re-booted expecting to see a new desktop. Wrong. Now what should I do? I half expected some sort of option menu during boot-up asking what WM I wanted to use but that is not the case. Any suggestions?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Jun 30 2004, 10:46 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

I don't have Mandrake 10, but under Whitebox there is a Desktop Switcher tool and with it you can switch from GNOME to KDE etc.... (it's under preferences in whitebox, so it should be somewhere there in mandrake as well)


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hemant
post Jun 30 2004, 12:06 PM
Post #3


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 782
Joined: 6-October 02
From: Trichy,INDIA
Member No.: 29



Hello...The answer is simple..
1.Install your new Window manager.
2.And update Gdm..so that it recognises new installed Window Manger.
I have written a brief guide on how to do it..Just check out this link.


--------------------
Hemant Kumar
user posted image
hemant@linuxhelp.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lobogobo
post Jun 30 2004, 12:30 PM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 17-June 04
Member No.: 3,180



if you disable the auto login you will get your choice at bootup. or you can "end session" to log back in.
from start menue select "end session" from login screen put in your password then select "menu" then select "session type" this will give you the window manager you want select. it then click on "login" mandrake 10.0 will read all window managers automaticaly.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hemant
post Jun 30 2004, 12:34 PM
Post #5


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 782
Joined: 6-October 02
From: Trichy,INDIA
Member No.: 29



I think...now all the distros uses Gdm for logging in.


--------------------
Hemant Kumar
user posted image
hemant@linuxhelp.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st October 2017 - 09:57 PM