Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Help Install Redhat 9 Pleast
88fingers
post Jun 29 2004, 02:51 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 29-June 04
Member No.: 3,258



I used to have Dell Windows XP machine, and had Redhat 7.3 running simultaneously with it; however, I very rarely used LInux, and didn't really get into. Fast forward 2 1/2 years later, and I just bought the "Linux for Dummies" book that comes with Redhat 9. However, when I tried to install in on my new machine (which is Ahtlon 2500, ASUS V600-X motherboard, 512 megs RAM (400 mhz)), I get to a part where it says something like, "I'm sorry, I do not have the informatino required for continuing with the next step. I am rebooting now," and then, it shuts down my system. I don't know what I"m supposed to do, and don't know enough about Linux to figure it out... can someone please help?
THanks!
-Brandon
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
88fingers
post Jun 29 2004, 03:42 PM
Post #2


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 29-June 04
Member No.: 3,258



Okay, I just read the back of the book, and it mentions that I have to have a Pentium-class PC dry.gif Is there any way around this? Or if not, is there some way I can get a distribution (preferably of Red Hat) that can be used with an AMD system?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
88fingers
post Jun 29 2004, 03:57 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 29-June 04
Member No.: 3,258



NOTE: It's actually Redhat 8.0 that's on the Linux for Dummies CDs... sorry for the mistake

I thought it would be useful to give you guys some more *exact* information.

I hit enter to install with graphical installation (or type linux text - I've tried both numerous times), and then a blue screen comes up that says:

"loading ohci1394 driver...."

This goes on for a couple seconds, and then a screen comes up that says:

"The second stage of the install which you have selected does not match the boot disk which you are using. This shouldn't happen, and I'm rebooting your system now."

I'm not using a boot disk though, I'm using the Redhat 8.0 install CDs that came with "Linux for Dummies." I have noticed online on numerous message bo0ards that the Redhat kernel seems to have some problems with AMD stuff; is there any way I can get around this? I don't have a CD burner that's working, so can't just burn some new ISO files.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jun 29 2004, 09:26 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



type:

linux nousb nofirewire

BUT if possible, you should install a newer distro ... especially if the AMD motherboard has an NFORCE 2 chipset...you should use FedoraCore2 (or mandrake 10) for minimal problems with NFORCE boards.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hemant
post Jun 30 2004, 12:18 PM
Post #5


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 782
Joined: 6-October 02
From: Trichy,INDIA
Member No.: 29



You should do a media check...and one more thing..do you have all the three CDZ with you..


--------------------
Hemant Kumar
user posted image
hemant@linuxhelp.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
88fingers
post Jul 1 2004, 05:44 PM
Post #6


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 29-June 04
Member No.: 3,258



QUOTE (Hemant @ Jun 30 2004, 12:18 PM)
You should do a media check...and one more thing..do you have all the three CDZ with you..

only 2 CDs came with the book, but that doesn't really matter, because I can't even get halfway thru the first CD
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hemant
post Jul 2 2004, 06:36 AM
Post #7


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 782
Joined: 6-October 02
From: Trichy,INDIA
Member No.: 29



Have you done the media check????
If not do it...and in case you may have to look for new CDZ.


--------------------
Hemant Kumar
user posted image
hemant@linuxhelp.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st October 2017 - 02:46 PM