Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> This Is A General Question To Laptop Users Esp Gat, resolution
gaviidae
post Jun 29 2004, 09:09 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 26-May 04
Member No.: 3,041



I found someone with my same laptop (Gateway M 305x) and he happened to say, "BTW do you have to stoop to 800x600 resolution too?" It just so happens that I do. Does anyone else?
(Going to a higher resolution that the machine really does support makes the right-hand and lower sides vanish.)
Is this particular to Gateway machines?
--gaviidae
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jul 3 2004, 09:07 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I would think this is a driver issue ...

What Linux distro are you using ... and what does it say in the file /etc/X11/XF86Config (or XF86Config-4 ... or xorg.conf) for the Section "Device" for you video card ... as an example mine (not on a gateway laptop...but on my main workstation) is:

CODE
Section "Device"
       Identifier  "Card0"
       Driver      "nvidia"
       VendorName  "nVidia Corporation"
       BoardName   "5200 FX"
       BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gaviidae
post Jul 10 2004, 02:35 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 26-May 04
Member No.: 3,041



Sorry I couldn't get online to answer this question (can't tell computer to use the pC card... don't remember how I did it in the past!!)
Originally had Mandrake 9.2, then switched to RH Fed Core 1. Now I'm using M10 but I didn't see if it could use the native resolution, I just tried to avoid trouble by setting the rez manually to 800x600.
Under Device
Identifier: Videocard0
Driver i810
Vendor Name: Videocard Vendor
Boardname: Intel 852
End Section
thx
gaviidae
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jul 11 2004, 08:03 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



That looks good ...

There is another section in the XF86Config file called Section "Monitor" what does your say:

Mine (not a laptop) says:
CODE
Section "Monitor"
       Identifier   "Monitor0"
       VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
       ModelName    "DDCPROBED"
       DisplaySize  400        300
       HorizSync    31.0 - 82.0
       VertRefresh  55.0 - 120.0
       Option      "dpms"
EndSection


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gaviidae
post Jul 15 2004, 09:22 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 26-May 04
Member No.: 3,041



Under Monitor
Identifier: monitor1
Vendorname: generic
Modelname: Flat Panel 1024x786
HorizSync: 31.5-37.9
VertRefresh: 40-70

# Sony Vaio C1 (X,XS,VE,VN)? <--note this is not my laptop
# 1024x480 @ 85.6 Hx, 48 kHz Sync
Modeline "1024x480" 65.00 1024 1032 1176 1344 480 488 494 563-hsync-vsync

# TV fullscreen mode or DVD fullscreen output
# 768x576 @ 79 Hz, 50 kHz hsync
Modeline "768x576" 63.07 768 800 960 1024 576 578 590 616

(there's another section called monitor2 with same info repeated)

Screen
Identifier: screen1
Device: device1
Monitor: monitor1
Default Color Depth 24
Subsection "Display"
Depth 8
Virtual 800 600
End Subsection
(Next are other subsections with color depths of 15, 16, 24 and all the virtuals are 800 600 prolly because I set that rez)

Incidentally there is a problem that is only this distro... when I type startx, I get weird lines and the background color. Going to a terminal with ctrl alt f2 then back to the gui with ctrl alt f7 makes it all better. ctrl alt f1 says
>Warning: Symbol map for key <lists a different key for each line like SPCE> redifined
>Using last definition for conflicting fields.
>Errors from xkbcomp are not fatal to X server
(thank god)
This hasn't happened under M9.2 nor RH Fed Core1 so I don't think this has anything at all to do with the rez problems, but maybe this jiggles something in your mind.
thx, gaviidae
oh and I read somewhere that x can't use all the allocated memory for the resolution and there might be a patch... I plan to try it now that I'm back online with my own computer


--------------------
Diebolt-- machines that who so you don't have to!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 03:18 AM