Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Printer Not Working, Kyocera FS 1010 not configured
doobers
post Jun 27 2004, 10:38 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 27-June 04
Member No.: 3,239



Okay. getting fed up with Linux. Kyocera FS 1010 can't be configured. I installed Linux drivers from Kyocera cd. Something called CUPs says it's not running due to security issues.. When I use printDrake it sees printer name and tries to configure but then says Printer not configured. Another window pops up asking me to copy a complete linuxmanual2 to a directory but is this connected? Does Windows rule?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jun 27 2004, 02:22 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I'm not sure if windows rules ... but it does have support for more hardware than Linux.

I have said many times ... if you are happy with Windows, use it smile.gif.

Most of the time linux is not a point and click to make it work kind of thing. If point and click is what floats your boat, Windows is the OS of choice.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
doobers
post Jun 28 2004, 01:39 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 27-June 04
Member No.: 3,239



You are right. But i'm nothing if not determined. I reinstalled Mandrake with the printer connected and the printer configured. Don't know why I couldn't do it manually though. I'm keen to learn more about OS and Linux in particular. We all have to start somewhere. Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 14th December 2017 - 08:13 AM