Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> No Sound/dvd's, No sound Dell Inspiron 8500 Mandrake 9.2
doobers
post Jun 27 2004, 04:16 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 27-June 04
Member No.: 3,239



I'm new to Linux. Just installed Mandrake 9.2. to dual boot with WXP. I cannot get sound. Cd's and sound files load and play but nothing from the speakers. I have used mixer to ensure levels are high enough. Sound card seems to be ICH4 845G/GL AC'97 chipset. Mpeg movies play but not film DVd's I get "error reading NAV packet" error. I would love to ditch Windows completely but feeling Linux is hard work.

doobers
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jun 27 2004, 07:58 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



So, do you have any sound on anything ... or no sound at all?

Is this on a NFORCE 2 motherboard chipset (if you don't know ... what is the motherboard and/or PC make and model).

At first I thought you has zero sound on anything ... then Mpeg movies play but not film DVd's I get "error reading NAV packet" error makes me wonder?

Is your sound card on the motherboard, or a seperate card?


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jun 27 2004, 09:07 AM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



QUOTE
from doobers
Thanks for your reply. Sound is now working. The external amp button on the mixer was selected. I deselected it and hey presto. I am still finding it all hard work though.

Glad your sound is working now....smile.gif


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th December 2017 - 05:22 AM