Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Grub Configuration Problem, GRUB
andycapp
post Jun 25 2004, 03:18 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 25-June 04
Member No.: 3,228



Please could somebody help me with the GRUB Configuration problem, I've recompiled my Mandrake 2.6.3-4 Kernel and saved it as a bz file, then I copied the file into the /Boot/Grub/ folder. My problem is when I try to configure GRUB to acknowledge the new kernel it provides me with a access denied message even though I'm logged on as root user.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jun 25 2004, 05:10 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Are you using Grub with Mandrake? The default boot loader for Mandrake is LILO.

If you did install grub instead of lilo, where are you having the problem....when editing the /boot/grub/grub.conf file?


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
andycapp
post Jun 28 2004, 08:29 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 25-June 04
Member No.: 3,228



Im using Grub with Mandrake 10 Community edition which preloaded GRUB instead og LILO. My problem is indeed with the /boot/grub/grub.conf file, it allows me to view but not to edit, as I want to enter the lines directing GRUB to the new Kernel created.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hemant
post Jun 28 2004, 09:15 AM
Post #4


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 782
Joined: 6-October 02
From: Trichy,INDIA
Member No.: 29



Try command...
CODE
# chmod +w grub.conf
# vi grub.conf

see if it works...


--------------------
Hemant Kumar
user posted image
hemant@linuxhelp.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
andycapp
post Jun 30 2004, 01:43 AM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 25-June 04
Member No.: 3,228



Thanks I tried it and it still didn't work. I was able to see, navigate through the text displayed but no edit. I then tried in the gui with gedit and I was successfull.

Thanks for the help and prompt replies.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st October 2017 - 07:22 AM