Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Newbie Modem Troubles
ryansanders2002
post Jun 24 2004, 02:47 PM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 3,222

First let me say this is my first time using Linux, I've been a Windows slave way too long blink.gif

Anyways I still use dialup and can't seem to get a modem working. I have 2 modems actually, a builtin HSP modem (I know the story with this so I won't bother with it. I asked someone I know to get me a Linux modem and he gave me this US Robotics modem. However, I can't seem to get it to work. Can and how would I make Mandrake 10 read this modem?

Thanks,
Ryan
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
lobogobo
post Jun 24 2004, 09:49 PM
Post #2

Member No.: 3,180

did you do a manual setup to select the modem port? mine is set to "ttso" and i use a usrobotics and it works fine

+Quote Post
ryansanders2002
post Jun 25 2004, 09:40 AM
Post #3

Member No.: 3,222

I tried all the ports. Its either "Unable to open modem" or "modem does not respond" ps it a US Robotics 56k Fax PCI

Lets do it the easy way. what modem should i get that will without a doubt work on mandrake 10.

+Quote Post
lobogobo
post Jun 25 2004, 02:27 PM
Post #4

in my lunchroom at work i use a unique internal/external modem and at home i use an external usrobotics modem whith no problem on mdk 10.0. both modems are hardware modems. i do have a an internal pci aopen that works but i don't like it I like to see the lights so I know whats goin on.

+Quote Post
lobogobo
post Jun 25 2004, 02:34 PM
Post #5