Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Help!, READ!!!!!
THCboy
post Jun 15 2004, 03:03 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 15-June 04
Member No.: 3,163



hi i am a beginer in linux and i am having a loooot of truble with it.
1. a can't copy or change files in the / dir becouse i do not have the permision!!!!
2. [thcboy@tm thcboy]$ login
prijava: thcboy
Password:

Authentication service cannot retrieve authentication info.
???????????????????????

i am using mandrake 9.1 linux and realy need some help
oh i forgot nothing works in the grafical enviroment i don't know why it just dosen't work. please help


..........THCboy out.......
.......end transmision........
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Jun 15 2004, 03:06 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

you could try opening up a terminal

and type

CODE
su - root

and type in the root password , which was asked during the installation of mandrake

what kind of a video card do you have?
during installation you selected at least one GUI right ? (KDE or GNOME)

Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Jun 15 2004, 03:14 PM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

here is someone who had a problem like you do, and he solved it, please read this post

http://lists.humbug.org.au/archives/genera...ber/013653.html


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
THCboy
post Jun 15 2004, 03:22 PM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 15-June 04
Member No.: 3,163



tnx the problem the pas problem is fixed the only thing left is that programs in the grafical enviroment start to work tongue.gif example i klick on kwrite and i wait for 5 minutes and nothing happens like i did absolutely nothing it is like that with most programs

THCboy
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Jun 15 2004, 03:23 PM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

please give me your system spec...

what cpu
how much ram do you have?
hdd speed size ?


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Jun 15 2004, 03:29 PM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

you could try the following to see why is it taking so much time to load that program,

open up the terminal

type
CODE
top


and you can see whats happening in the background

for aditional usage manual type
CODE
man top


you can also check what processes are currently running
CODE
ps

CODE
pstree


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
THCboy
post Jun 15 2004, 03:29 PM
Post #7


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 15-June 04
Member No.: 3,163



intel celeron 466mhz
64mb RAM


what else??

THCboy
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
THCboy
post Jun 15 2004, 03:34 PM
Post #8


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 15-June 04
Member No.: 3,163



well i would be satisfied if the program would actualy open but it dosen't you can see that the computer is doing something and you wait but naothing happens i have no idea what is wrong

THCboy
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Jun 15 2004, 03:38 PM
Post #9


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



hi,

you see 128MB is the recomended minimum for a modern GUI, so with 64MB ram its pretty normal that it's choppy...

you see these new gui's KDE GNOME all use these fancy icons, themes, sounds, and other cool effects which slow down the system.


I wonder.... if you type this into a terminal
CODE
free


what does it show?

Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
THCboy
post Jun 15 2004, 03:44 PM
Post #10


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 15-June 04
Member No.: 3,163



i know it sucks i intend to buy more ram probably 256 or 512 oh yeah it shows this maybe you will understand this


[root@tm thcboy]# free
total used free shared buffers cached
Mem: 61592 60248 1344 0 816 21492
-/+ buffers/cache: 37940 23652
Swap: 497972 42976 454996



by me
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Jun 15 2004, 03:51 PM
Post #11


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



you need to add more ram,...as you can see

60248 is already in use... and only 1344 left

buy 128MB or 256MB (better) ram , or buy a new (used) laptop for 250-300Eur

Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
THCboy
post Jun 15 2004, 03:57 PM
Post #12


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 15-June 04
Member No.: 3,163



well tnx anway i will definitly buy more ram smile.gif this is a nice forum i will recomend it to my frends peace

...peace out...
...connection terminated by host...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dlab
post Jun 17 2004, 03:05 AM
Post #13


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 16-June 04
From: California, USA
Member No.: 3,175



If nothing comes up for kwrite of anything else, open up xterm in the gui and type :
/opt/kde/bin/kwrite&

this will launch kwrite in the BG and kwrite will dump any debug info into stdout. I have found that usually if kde runs out of memory, it starts killing apps. For example I was compiling a proggy in konsole on my older laptop with 96 megs of ram when stuff like kicker started disappearing. If stuff doesn't come up at all, it doesn't sound like a ram issue.


--------------------
The computer is the ultimate polluter, its s__t is indistinguishable from the food it produces.
user posted image--Found somewhere in the Fortune game.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2017 - 11:29 PM