Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Cdrom Won't Open, how do i change cds
datech
post Jan 9 2003, 09:59 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 9-January 03
Member No.: 308



OK I'm new to linux, got slack 8.0 installed. went good, I got sound to work, with some late nights, if I put a cd in and boot linux I can play the mp3 on the cd.
But I can not open the cdrom to change disks, Do I have to unmout it first?
if I do how do I remount another cd?
Thanks,
Frank
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post Jan 10 2003, 08:05 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



Well, i'm not too familier with Slackware (something I should look at soon), however, if your mount point for your cdrom is /mnt/cdrom , then then following commands should help:

QUOTE
cd /
umount /mnt/cdrom


...now your cdrom should be able to open, and note, your cdrom will not open for you if you still have it mounted. And, it will not unmount unless there is nothing using it which includes being in the /mnt/cdrom directory.

Replace the cd, and remount it using

QUOTE
mount /mnt/cdrom


If your mount points are different (for example, debian uses /cdrom rather then /mnt/cdrom) then just replace it above.


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
datech
post Jan 10 2003, 09:26 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 9-January 03
Member No.: 308



ok. I tried that, and got "umount /mnt/cdrom is not in the fstab - and you are not root"
I can see why you need root to mount-umount but is there any way to do it as a user? BTW I'm tring to do this in KDE. I should be able to change cd's as needed, I think?
Frank
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jrbishop79
post Jan 10 2003, 11:11 AM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 7-January 03
Member No.: 299



try typing 'eject'
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
datech
post Jan 10 2003, 11:27 AM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 9-January 03
Member No.: 308



OK. I found out I had to edit my fstab file to include the cdrom,
and allow users.
While in there I added two floppys types as well.
This linux stuff is like a good book... I just can't put it down. hehehe
I can tell I'm going to spend some late nights with it!
Frank
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jrbishop79
post Jan 10 2003, 12:59 PM
Post #6


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 7-January 03
Member No.: 299



QUOTE (datech @ Jan 10 2003, 11:27 AM)
This linux stuff is like a good book... I just can't put it down. hehehe
I can tell I'm going to spend some late nights with it!

can I use this?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 06:48 AM