Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Need Help About Lilo, rewrite mbr
tomamodi
post Jun 9 2004, 02:43 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 26-May 04
Member No.: 3,036



dear experts need help
recently i make ghost copy of my hdd before severel times go through this prosegure never have problem ghost copy will run
this time i copy a hdd (normally system linx) but itwill not boot
mounted on other runnining redhat 9 i check all files are ok even there is lilo.conf
but didnt boot
so i try to /sbin/lilo i lost my red hat boot ! and on boot it give "00000000000" full of screen
how could i repair this unbootable hdd by mounting and repairing
please becarefull you are dealing with newbee give litle more explanation about commands i dint want to reinstall my redhat again
thanks
in short how to repair boot lilo by mounting unbootable harddisk in other running system
thanks again
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chrisw
post Jun 9 2004, 04:09 PM
Post #2


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Admin
Posts: 634
Joined: 27-September 02
From: Louisiana
Member No.: 5



bumping this to the top of tech support after being moved


--------------------

Chris W.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tomamodi
post Jun 9 2004, 10:50 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 26-May 04
Member No.: 3,036



sorry for posting on rong place
thanks
i hope i get the answer
how to install lilo by mounting the target hdd in working pc with red hat 9
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tomamodi
post Jun 10 2004, 07:55 AM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 26-May 04
Member No.: 3,036



please friends i need urgent help
thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Jun 10 2004, 10:26 AM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Ok, it sounds to me like the problem isn't on hdb, but hda. Do you ever get to lilo? or when you boot do you just get 000000s on the screen?

If you aren't even getting to lilo, you need to re-install your bootloader.

I believe RedHat has an option to do this from thier rescue tools.

Put your first install disk in and boot. At the prompt, type in Rescue. From there I can't hold your hand because I am not familiar with RedHat enough. But their should be an option to "Restore Bootloader" or something to those effects.

Reinstall your bootloader and you should be set to go.

If you can't find it comeback and I will figuer it out for you. Sorry it took us so long to get to your post.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tomamodi
post Jun 10 2004, 09:50 PM
Post #6


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 26-May 04
Member No.: 3,036



already i try with cd it say kernel panic didnt have boot disk for this perticular system linux 2.2.19
this is hda but now it is mounted to other running linux system so it is hdc
#linux 2.2.19 unableboot
#how could i trnsfer the system to this
Disk /dev/hdc: 40.0 GB, 40020664320 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 4865 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hdc1 * 1 25 200781 83 Linux
/dev/hdc2 26 4865 38877300 f Win95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/hdc5 26 4849 38748748+ 83 Linux
/dev/hdc6 4850 4865 128488+ 82 Linux swap

i copy this hard disk with norton ghost 2003 before ten copies work good now i think the counts for copy is only ten it write the orignal and now it copy hole disk but unbootable so one must install boot mbr this is lilo
lilo.conf is here
restrected
password=xxxxx
boot=/dev/hda
timeout=50
default=cache
vga = 265
read-only
map=/boot/map
install=/boot/boot.b
image = /lib/modules/2.2.19/vmlinuz
label = cache
root = /dev/hda1
image = /lib/modules/2.0.38/vmlinuz
label = 38
root = /dev/hda1
if chroot this hdc then give
mount /dev/hdc1 /sbin/lilo or lilo -v -v
it change my running grub not the hdc mounted
by rescue way it say
bash: permision denied
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dlab
post Jun 17 2004, 05:26 PM
Post #7


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 16-June 04
From: California, USA
Member No.: 3,175



Could you give out some more info on the "000000000000000"? If it is in lilo, then you would see something like "L 00 00 00 00 00 00" or "L? 40 40 40 40 40", etc. Is there a L or something similar appended to the error code at boot?


--------------------
The computer is the ultimate polluter, its s__t is indistinguishable from the food it produces.
user posted image--Found somewhere in the Fortune game.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th October 2017 - 12:07 PM