Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Initialisaton Script (linux Autoexec.bat), a simple one
redhavoc
post Jun 8 2004, 02:38 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 7-June 04
Member No.: 3,110



Hello again, a siple question for most of you
I have SUSE linux 9.1, and I need the initialisation script (something like the autoexec.bat of DOS)
I need it mainly to add some enviromental variables, so if there is a better way to do it, please tell me
also I need to add the enviromental variables using setenv, but is not avaliable in my shell (bash shell)
is there an alternative, or everything will be fine if I use the set command.
An a final one, is there a program in SUSE (command line preferably) to change the deamons running on my system
because I am afraid of touching directly the rc directories in etc

thanks again
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post Jun 8 2004, 03:31 AM
Post #2


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



You probally want /etc/profile

I havn't done much with it (just changes some aliases, such as clear is now cls, etc.), but that might be what you want.

Also, I'm pretty sure you want to use 'set' instead of 'setenv'

(Example: set HISTSIZE=500)


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
redhavoc
post Jun 8 2004, 07:23 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 7-June 04
Member No.: 3,110



Thanks for the tip
I am not sure if set will do the trick, but will give it a try
I am trying to make a program run, which as they say in the readme requires env variables with setenv. I am not sure if export can do anything about it.
If anybody knows please post
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hemant
post Jun 8 2004, 09:00 AM
Post #4


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 782
Joined: 6-October 02
From: Trichy,INDIA
Member No.: 29



You can edit file...
~/.bashrc and put the variable there and export it...here ~ means the home directory of user..
something like this...
CODE
#!/bin/bash
LANG="C"
export LANG


thus in the above example a environment variable LANG was assigned the value "C" and the value is exported so that it is globally recognisable.


--------------------
Hemant Kumar
user posted image
hemant@linuxhelp.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th October 2017 - 02:36 AM