Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Accessing Different Partitions
morpheus2485
post Jun 7 2004, 03:18 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 7-June 04
Member No.: 3,116



i installed mandrake on the first half of the hard drive, later i had startup problems and installed another copy on the second half, my problem now is that i can't access the files from the first instillation (specifically the home partition) shouldn't these show up in the /mnt dirrectory? the only thing i can find there is the cdrom


--------------------
Pentium Centrino Laptop
1.4ghz 512Mb 60Gb
Mandrake 10.0 RC1
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hemant
post Jun 7 2004, 03:59 PM
Post #2


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 782
Joined: 6-October 02
From: Trichy,INDIA
Member No.: 29



No...You can't access them like that you will have to mount them manually using command:


# mount /dev/hdxy /mnt/oldman

here hdxy is basically the partition you want to mount like../dev/hda5..etc and oldman is a directory created inside mnt where the filesystem will be mounted....


--------------------
Hemant Kumar
user posted image
hemant@linuxhelp.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
morpheus2485
post Jun 7 2004, 05:47 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 7-June 04
Member No.: 3,116



i tried that and failed.

running as root, i get the error message :

[root@localhost /]# mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1
mount: mount point /mnt/hda1 does not exist

after reading the mount manual it seems that i need to specify the file system type

unfortunately, i neither know what that is nor do i know how to find out


--------------------
Pentium Centrino Laptop
1.4ghz 512Mb 60Gb
Mandrake 10.0 RC1
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Jun 7 2004, 07:03 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,800
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



You need to create a mount point i..e
mkdir /mnt/oldhome (as an example)

mount -t auto /dev/hda1 /mnt/oldhome (change hda1 to your actual old home directory)

To see how the drive is partitioned
fdisk -l (that is a small L) (need to be root)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
morpheus2485
post Jun 7 2004, 07:25 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 7-June 04
Member No.: 3,116



thanks! biggrin.gif


--------------------
Pentium Centrino Laptop
1.4ghz 512Mb 60Gb
Mandrake 10.0 RC1
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 11th December 2017 - 07:52 PM