Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Directory Permissions, help
A1ex
post Jun 7 2004, 02:44 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 7-June 04
Member No.: 3,115



Hello. Im running Mandrake 10 Official. I have a question about setting permissions.

When i do this to a directory

]# chmod a-rw directory

it works for a while but then later the permissions go back to how they where...
I guess what I need to know is how to chage permissions on a directory with out it reverting to the prior permissions it had.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post Jun 7 2004, 02:52 PM
Post #2


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



A program is changing the permissions of this directory, so the short answer is no.

What folder is this? (and where is it located?)


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hemant
post Jun 7 2004, 04:06 PM
Post #3


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 782
Joined: 6-October 02
From: Trichy,INDIA
Member No.: 29



QUOTE
]# chmod a-rw directory


you are making "directory" not readable and writable for all.Well that is not a normal thing to do...unless you want to fool someone. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

but that command will work more accurately if you do that recursively..for example:
CODE
# chmod -R a-rw directory


--------------------
Hemant Kumar
user posted image
hemant@linuxhelp.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Jun 8 2004, 01:48 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



I keep having that same problem with my Apache directory. I change the permsion with chmod 755 and it runs for a wile, but than if I reboot or something it goes back to restricted. I am guessing its apache, but its really starting to bug me.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hemant
post Jun 9 2004, 07:26 AM
Post #5


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 782
Joined: 6-October 02
From: Trichy,INDIA
Member No.: 29



Have you tried chaning the permissions recursively..using -R option.


--------------------
Hemant Kumar
user posted image
hemant@linuxhelp.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 13th December 2017 - 06:15 AM